FAME Review: Supersuckers - Get the Hell
Supersuckers - Get the Hell

Get the Hell


Acetate Records - ATE7048

Available from MVD Entertainment Group.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mark S. Tucker

Supersuckers have proven to have staying power, here issuing their 9th disc in 25 years, maintaining a self-dubbed 'Greatest Rock 'n Roll Band in the World' moniker—which, hm, makes them, near as I can figger, the 9,485,348th 'Best Band in the World' so far—which they carry off very well indeed…so well, in fact, that the lads have recorded with, now get this, Willie Nelson, Eddie Vedder, Steve Earle, and others, not to mention touring with The Ramones, Motorhead, Butthole Surfers, New York Dolls, White Zombie, and many others. Okay, Al Jourgenson, ya still struttin' now? The sound here is of The Godz, real early Golden Earring, Tuckey Buzzard, the whole 60s schmear (Music Machine, Seeds, Kinks, ? and the Mysterians, etc.), and brought off way better than 90% of the entire punk scene ever knocked out.

Believe it or not, Mickey Raphael guests on a cut, playing harmonica, 'cause these cats are actually, when you get down to cases, Southern / Tejas type badasses (even if they are from Tucson) playing East Side roadhouse drunk-off-yer-face rock, shitkicker music for hard cases, louts, headbangers, beer drinkers, and you and me ('cause I'm certain that you, like me, are an angel straight from heaven). Take a look at the titles below and you can pretty much figure out what your ears are in for. Fuck Up, the track with Raphael and a correlate to Jon Spencer's Fuck Shit Up, is a driving blues-based rave-up, Gluttonous is a bit of a toned-down Motorhead with a Lemmy who actually knows how to sing, and Supersuckers' take on Gary Glitter's Rock On isn't quite what The Sequined One had in mind…thank goodness. Crashing economies, colluding cracked actors in Congress, looming rapacious trade agreements, and hideous Hollywood award shows not enough terror for ya? Well, let these bedraggled bastards in the door, mosh your brains out with 'em, and the real world will seem tame by comparison…or you might even take the closing cut here over to Congress the next time it's in session: Shut Your Face!

Track List:

  • Intro
  • Get the Hell
  • Something About You
  • Fuck Up
  • High Tonight
  • Pushin' Thru
  • Never Let Me Down Again (M.L. Gore)
  • Gluttonous
  • Disaster Bastard
  • Bein' Bad
  • That's What You Get for Thinkin'
  • Shut Your Face
  • Rock On (Glitter / Leander)
All songs written by Supersuckers except as noted.

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2014, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles