FAME Review: Tim O'Brien and Darrell Scott - Memories and Moments
Tim O'Brien and Darrell Scott - Memories and Moments

Memories and Moments

Tim O'Brien and Darrell Scott

Available from Tim & Darrell's Bandcamp page.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

These two giants of Alt-Country Music have combined for a second studio album that fans have been crying for since they two began songwriting, singing and playing together on many instruments all those years ago. Memories and Moments is five songs from each of these dynamic songwriters, one collaborative effort, along with three covers. One each from George Jones and Hank Williams and John Prine's classic Paradise, with the author guesting on guitar and vocals. Tim O'Brien and Darrell Scott have known each other for years and played in many bands since first meeting and playing in Steve Earle's Bluegrass Dukes, where a cementing friendship and respect was born. They are both from Appalachia, Scott from Kentucky and O'Brien from West Virginia, both starting with country music and Scott tending more toward R & R and O'Brien toward Bluegrass, meeting somewhere in the wilds of Hank Williams.

This album is just the two of them playing off each other; finishing each other's musical sentences. There is a very natural/organic feel to the disc; it is something that just naturally flows between these two multitalented individuals. When you have been friends and sitting around living rooms playing together for so many years you just naturally know what to expect and how to anticipate so it doesn't become the expected to the listner. Not only does it go for the instrumental portion but for the vocals as well. These two sound like brothers that grew up singing together. Just listen to the job they do on Hank Williams' Alone and Forsaken, just stunning. If you enjoy close harmony in vocals, and absolutely stunning instrumental blends do not let this one pass.

Track List:

  • Time To Talk To Joseph
  • It All Comes Down To Love
  • Keep Your Dirty Lights On
  • Brother Wind
  • Memories And Moments
  • Paradise
  • Just One More
  • Fiddler Jones
  • The Well
  • Alone And Forsaken
  • You Don't own Me
  • Angel's Blue Eyes
  • Free Again
  • On Life's Other Side

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2013, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles