FAME Review: Loop - The World in Your Eyes
Loop - The World in Your Eyes

The World in Your Eyes


Available from Amazon.com.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mark S. Tucker

If you follow the timeline of this band's briefish existence (1986 - 1990), The World in Your Eyes is their second release and appears to have been issued due to the instant popularity of the debut album. World is an anthology of singles, B-sides, 12-inchers, and what have you, and definitely follows in the harsh, flipped-out, bleak, ominous footsteps of its predecessor, Heaven's End. The original issuance contained 23 songs, and the three CDs here total 27, so, in accord with the entire run of these re-mastered re-releases, the listener gets a bonus 4 songs. What they are, I almost wasn't able to say, as there are no credits of any kind anywhere in the package, but that's what makes the InterNet so useful. Hitting Amazon, I came across the listings, and they're shown below. As you'll see, there aren't just Loop originals but cover songs as well, like Neil Young's Cinnamon Girl, Nick Drake's Pink Moon, and Can's Mother Sky. Yow!

This is also where the distinctive Loop logo began, one which the new and way cool Beak imitated on their first release. I won't hazard to guess which Loop line-up appeared in whichever track as, presumably, some materials came from the Heaven's trio days and some from the later Loop reformation. In the latter, drummer Bex was gone, replaced by John Wills, and bassist Glen Ray rotated out for Neil Mackay. Robert Hampson, the founder, decided to also add another guitar and so James Endeacott made the former trio a quartet. The sound is much as what occurred in Heaven's but cleaner, less boomy, not so distorted, and not quite as swampy. What they lost in primal ooze, though, they gained in definition, making the release a good deal more decidedly progrocky. Head On, which also appeared in the Heaven's End bonus disc, is quite lucid, spacious, and quite Pink Floydy, Barrett era. Brittle Head Girl is similarly inclined, but from the Floyd's Nile Song.

The most interesting aspect of World is its relative timelessness. Had it issued back when Amon Duul II had been around, it would've been a sensation among progrockers, spaceheads, and avant-noise connoisseurs. Loop was already established due to Heaven's End, and this release hit #4 on UK indie charts, not bad for a gatherum. Now, upon re-re-release (there was one other between the 1987 issuance and this one), it's just as timely, and one can't help but suspect it'll be equally appreciated 20 years from now…unless the upcoming end of the Mayan calendar and its nervous prospects turn us all into, shudder!, Perry Como groupies.

[NOTE: This is one of four reviews on the cluster-release of Loop's catalogue. For the remainder, see here, here, and here.]

Track List:

Disc 1Disc 2
  • 16 Dreams
  • Head On
  • Burning World
  • Spinning (Parts 1&2)
  • Brittle Head Girl
  • Deep Hit
  • I'll Take You There
  • Brittle Head Girl (1st Loop Demo - House In The Woods)
  • Burning World (1st Loop Demo - House In The Woods)
  • Spinning (Spun Out) (from "Good Feeling Compilation")
  • Collision
  • Crawling Heart
  • Thief Of Fire
  • Thief (Motherfucker)
  • Black Sun
  • Circle Grave
  • Mother Sky
  • Pink Moon
  • Cinnamon Girl
  • Afterglow (Prisma Uber Europa Promo Live 12")
  • Got To Get It Over (Prisma Uber Europa Promo Live 12")
  • Burning World (Prisma Uber Europa Promo Live 12")
  • Like Rats

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2012, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles