FAME Review: Pete Seeger & Lorre Wyatt - A More Perfect Union
Pete Seeger & Lorre Wyatt - A More Perfect Union

A More Perfect Union

Pete Seeger & Lorre Wyatt

Appleseed Records - APRCD1130

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Let's be honest. How does anyone not love Pete Seeger? The man is living history, when the idea of 'a more perfect union' didn't seem so far away, so utterly unattainable.

Pete Seeger believes, and however you are in his presence—concerts, discussions, striding the streets of his beloved Beacon, NY, on Pandora, on ipods, ipads, cd players—you believe too. That's how strong this 93 year old is.

As part of a powerful, one-two punch of new Seeger recordings (see Pete Remembers Woody). A More Perfect Union reunites Pete with songwriter Lorre Wyatt to finish a collaboration they started more than fifteen years ago, before a debilitating stroke took away Wyatt's ability to sing and play.

But wisdom, perseverance, and a lifelong dedication to singing about social concerns has resulted in this life affirming recording. The elegiac God's Counting On Me…God's Counting On You sets the stage gloriously, bluntly addressing many of the political and manmade ills despoiling our country, while Springsteen sings "Time to turn things around / Trickle up, not trickle down" and the Rivertown Kids brim with optimism. Try not smiling while listening to the thoroughly enjoyable, self-deprecating Old Apples. Jeff Haynes' insistent, trance-like percussion powers Lorre and guest vocalist Dar Williams on Memories Out Of Mud, a rumination of Katrina's eternal aftermath. Both old friends, along with an elegant Emmylou Harris, revisit Wyatt's well known Somos El Barco/We Are The Boat. This Old Man Revisited a take on This Old Man ponders war and the men who get rich on other's blood, features a growling Steve Earle. Tom Morello adds guitar and urgent vocals on the title track.

As you might have guessed by now, I could say something about each of the sixteen tracks that grace this gratifying CD. Though Pete would be the last to admit it, each of us owes him great gratitude for reminding us of our better angels still hovering out there in the dwindling ozone. A More Perfect Union just proves how much we still owe.

Track List:

  • God's Counting On Me…God's Counting On You
  • Old Apples
  • Keep The Flame Alive
  • Memories Out Of Mud
  • A More Perfect Union
  • This Old Man Revisited
  • These Days in Zimbabwe
  • Somebody Else's Eyes
  • Strange Lullabye
  • Somos El Barco/We Are The Boat
  • Howling For Our Supper
  • My Neighbor's Needs
  • Wonderful Friends
  • A Toast To The Times
  • Fields Of Harmony
  • Bountiful River
Produced by David Bernz, Jeff Haynes, & Jim Musselman

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2012, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles