FAME Review: Los Cenzontles - Regeneration
Los Cenzontles - Regeneration


Los Cenzontles

Available from Los Cenzontles online store.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This is the third disc by Los Cenzontles (The Mockingbirds), in which the group has been aided by David Hidalgo (Los Lobos), as co-producer. Mr. Hidalgo also contributes musically on a wide variety of instruments and is joined by such nationally known musicians as Jackson Browne, Raul Malo, Elvin Bishop, Pete Sears, among many others. This is a true melding of the traditional complex rhythms of Mexican music, the Rancheras, the ballads and Mariachi beats to the psychedelic blazing guitars of the 60's San Francisco sound. Where else are you going to find songs such as the traditional, La Lloroncita and the exceptional classic from Burt Bacharach/Hal David, Only Love Can Break A Heart, together on a disc in the company of such originals as The Silence, and Adiós California. Some songs are sung in English and others in Spanish, all embrace the concerns of people of both past and present on both sides of the border.

To give an idea of the depth of this disc, The Silence is sung by David Hidalgo and Jackson Browne; Raul Malo provides voice on Hijo Mío and Vuela. The electric guitars on No Politics are provided by Elvin Bishop. The songs are mostly written by Eugene Rodriguez, there are three covers and two written by Lucina Rodriquez and one by Chucho Nila. It is a disc of diverse interests and influences and truly goes to the simpatico of music and fresh ideas and grafting new upon a healthy stock to create something that is truly a marriage. That is the key to create something new a larger group can relate to.

Los Cenzotles takes its name from a Mexican Art Center in Richmond/San Pablo, CA, founded on a grant by Eugene Rodriguez back in the 80's and thriving and growing and more can be learned at www.loscenzotles.com, worth giving more than a passing glance.

Track List:

  • Adiós California
  • Murmullos
  • Ay Pasajero
  • A Tu Lado
  • Vuela
  • Free To Be Me
  • Un Día Feliz
  • No Politics
  • Tirana
  • The Silence
  • La Lloroncita
  • Hijo Mío
  • Valor Latino
  • Only Love Can Break A Heart
  • Bonus Track: Migration
  • Bonus Track: Bugalú

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2012, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles