FAME Review: Jimmy Robinson - Guitarworks
Jimmy Robinson - Guitarworks


Jimmy Robinson

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

Jimmy Robinson on this disc plays 6- and 12-string guitars and on one cut, You and Me, he plays electric slide guitar. Unlike many players who play an acoustic guitar he doesn't caress his strings, or try to coax sound from them, rather he attacks them. He is the hurricane wind doing what it will with the trees standing between him and the havoc he hopes to wreck. There is a fury and passion, an absolute force with which he fashions the notes that he has plucked, strummed, slapped and, yes, even at time caresses, from his instrument.

He wrote 12 of the 16 songs on the disc, of the three he didn't write most everyone would know 2 of the titles; Little Wing by Jimi Hendrix and Eight Miles High by Gene Clark, David Crosby and Roger McGuinn. It is in these songs and his arrangements that his creativity and vision come to the forefront as these are established songs that most of the public know and have heard—not so much in the lesser known (but equally deserving of praise), Hurt by Trent Renor. He takes these songs and stands them on their respective heads both with his arrangements, instrumentation and presentation. His vision as well as his ability to play guitar are equally on display here.

Just so you have some forewarning of what is to come some of the people helping him will shed light on what he is doing; The Bonerama Horns (Mark Mullins, Craig Klein and Greg Hicks), Susan Cowsil on vocals, Washboard Chaz on percussion, Tommy Malone electric slide guitar, Beth Patterson on vocals.

This is a fellow little known outside of his city of residence, New Orleans, who deserves a much wider audience. Though his guitar of choice on this solo disc is acoustic do not be lulled into thinking the disc is quiet and placid; it is anything but that.

Track List:

  • Can't Stop Drinking
  • Everything Must Go
  • Lynne Louise
  • You and Me
  • Colin Brown
  • Hurt
  • Frantic
  • Little Wing
  • 12 String #2
  • River of Tears
  • Psycho Gras
  • You Make Me Crazy
  • Morning
  • Eight Miles High
  • Nu Slap

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2012, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles