FAME Review: The Trishas - High, Wide & Handsome
The Trishas - High, Wide & Handsome

High, Wide & Handsome

The Trishas

Available from The Trishas' online store.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

For a group that is relatively unknown outside of a couple of Western towns, these women have some very impressive credentials and a powerhouse disc with some upper echelon musicians. This is an album that pulled my boots off and knocked me back, and it continues to do so with each listen. Their sound is big country/songwriter with beautiful harmony singing, intelligent songs, and good stories to go along with their own deliciously fairytale story of coming together. They joined forces to do a tribute to Savannah Welch's father, singer/songwriter Kevin Welch, and that was it until the magic of their reception by the audience engulfed them. Four part harmonies usually don't soar as close as theirs do unless the singers are family, but these ladies are not family in the conventional sense, and that is part of the magic. A number of big names, Raul Malo, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Todd Snider, as well as Savannah's dad, noticed the magic and lent support, offering the ladies parts singing on albums and going out on tours.

The women, Liz Foster, Kelley Mickwee, Savannah Welch, and Jamie Wilson, as well as singing, play a plethora of instruments, most notably guitar and Liz Foster wailing on harmonica, and several play the mandolin however Kelley Mickwee is the main player. Those backing them include Kenny Vaughan on guitar, drummer Harry Stinson of Marty Stuart's Fabulous Superlatives, bassist Viktor Krauss of Lyle Lovett's bands, fiddler Tammy Rogers of the Dead Reckoners (also Dead Reckoners are Harry Stinson and Kevin Welch), and steel guitarist Russ Pahl. These ladies wrote or co-wrote fourteen of the fifteen songs on the disc (that includes the bonus song which features Raul Malo). Some of their co-writers will bear familiar names to those that pay attention to such things; Bruce Robison, Owen Temple, Jim Lauderdale, and Kevin Welch to slide a few names your way. This is one of those discs that hits you one way and then opens up many other vistas and keeps on going. One of the best to come along in a long time.

Track List:

  • Mother of Invention
  • Strangers
  • Little Sweet Cigars
  • Liars & Fools
  • Cheater's Game
  • Looking At Me
  • Why
  • Over Forgiving You
  • One Down
  • Cold Blooded Love
  • Rainin' Inside
  • The Fool
  • John Wayne Cowboy
  • Silver & Gold
  • A Far Cry From You (bonus track featuring Raul Malo)

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2012, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles