FAME Review: Mickey Hart Band - Mysterium Tremendum
Mickey Hart Band - Mysterium Tremendum

Mysterium Tremendum

Mickey Hart Band

Available from Mickey Hart's web site.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

Just so we are all up to speed here Mickey Hart was for nearly 30 years one of the two drummers that played in the Grateful Dead. He and Bill Kreutzmann were/are known as the Rhythm Devils and their polyrhythmic voyages during the shows were mind boggling, expanding rock drumming with various instruments from their armory of percussion instruments from various cultures. Mr. Hart's interest in percussion from around the world and his explorations into light and sound have sparked and fueled his enthusiasm for this project into the merger of light becoming sound and vice versa. If that sounds arty, just put on the disc and give a listen and all will become clear to your ears. The notes with the disc relating to the premise of the disc and its relationship to the sounds from the universe are excellent.

This band is helped immeasurably by the presence of Robert Hunter the Dead's long time lyricist, who has worked with Hart before. He wrote the lyrics for seven of the songs and knows Mickey Hart and what he is aiming for with little direction, he also contributes musically to the disc. Also there is Widespread Panic bassist Dave Schools, percussionist Sikiru Adepoju, vocalists Crystal Monee Hall and Tim Hockenberry, drummer Ian "Inx" Herman, guitarist Gawain Matthews, keyboardist and producer Ben Yonas. To just sweeten it a bit more Steve Kimock and Reed Mathis contribute and they are joined by long time Hart collaborators Zakir Hussain and Giovanni Hidalgo, as well as by samples of the music of Babatunde Olatunji, who passed away in 2003. A very interesting concept and a disc that reveals ever more with repeated listening.

Track List:

  • Heartbeat of the Sun
  • Slow Joe Rain
  • Cut the Deck
  • Starlight Starbright
  • Who Stole The Show?
  • Djinn Djinn
  • This One Hour
  • Supersonic Vision
  • Time Never Ends
  • Let There Be Light
  • Ticket To Nowhere
  • Through Endless Skies

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2012, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles