FAME Review: Tron Syversen - Peaceful Journey
Tron Syversen - Peaceful Journey

Peaceful Journey

Tron Syversen

TK Music - TKM05

Available from Tron Syversen' web site.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mark S. Tucker

If you're as fond of adagios and lament musics as I am, Tron Syversen's Peaceful Journey is going to be balm and then some. Right from the opening of the CD, lovely violin strains waft from the speakers atop a Pachelbelian pizzicatoed background (appears to be true string plucking melded with synth), Elin Lokken's melismatics floating alongside, an intelligently sad angel conflicted between hope and despair. The atmospheres of Pavane pour Une Infante Defunte and Le Tombeau de Couperin are unmistakeable, rising in lush simplicity amid night clouds and shifting fogs.

Debussy, Ravel, Faure, and Barber figure in heavily here, as do works like Vangelis' Apocalypse des Animaux, and the CD wavers not a whit from its mood through an hour of beautifully laconic tableaus. Syversen mans the keyboards while a string trio and quartet (Sunniva Bergsaune, Ase Haga, Lise Sorenson, and Silie Katrine) keeps pace with him, accompanied by dolorously engaging side instruments (English horn, flute, etc.). Tron more than once appears to summon a deliciously wistful oboe patch sliding ghostly between the rest of the players in a presence both focused and diffusive—either that or Henrik Eurenius has achieved a marvelous pitch differential not customary to the English horn.

A gentle post-Romanesque stateliness pervades Peaceful Journey, and some will be reminded of Satie and Mompou. Particularly sharp listeners will likewise glean a bit of Robert Schroeder, echoes and strains, from his bygone IC label opuses. The arrangements are crafted to imbue that aching nearness of transcendence so common to Impressionistic works as well as a sharpened appreciation of the timelessness of the moment beside the fleeting bittersweet tang of memory. Don't be surprised if your eyes get a little misty before the processional ends.

Track List:

  • Silent Dream
  • Rivers
  • The Beginning
  • Amorous
  • Nearness
  • Lullabye to Love
  • Your Dream
  • My Love
  • Longing
All songs written by Tron Syversen.

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2012, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles