FAME Review: Wilco - The Whole Love
Wilco - The Whole Love

The Whole Love


Available from Wilco's online store.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Wilco never was a band for everyone, but with The Whole Love both sides will have greatly replenished cannon fodder to defend their stand.

Luckily for my side, The Whole Love opens with the hilariously ferocious sonic pointillism of Art Of Almost and is followed by, aptly enough, the Sixties shimmer of I Might. The Pink Floyd-ian Sunloathe is an expansive introspection that somehow washes into the crunchy Dawned On Me and from there this rollercoaster recording tumbles merrily through Jeff Tweedy's hyper-active musical funhouse.

Lest I've gone totally tone deaf (of which many a peer have accused me of late) this is Wilco's most brilliantly realized work since A Ghost is Born (2004) and quite possibly their 2002 masterwork Yankee Hotel Foxtrot*. Moments of challenge are everywhere: the willfully joyful riff of Born Alone balanced against the lyrical gist of, well, you know, born to die alone. Open Mind is a certified elliptical Neil Young-ish ballad circa 1967, while the lengthy glory of One Sunday Morning is just too good to be true. Not to be crude about a thing of such rare beauty, but The Whole Love is fucked-up good!

ps: If you can swing the discretionary income for the deluxe edition, the accompanying four songs are well worth it, especially the Graham Parsons/Plastic Ono mash-up Message From Mid-Bar.

Track List:

  • Art of Almost
  • I Might
  • Sunloathe
  • Dawned On Me
  • Black Moon
  • Born Alone
  • Open Mind
  • Capitol City
  • Standing
  • Rising Red Lung
  • Whole Love
  • One Sunday Morning
Deluxe Edition Extra Tracks
  • I Love My Label
  • Message From Mid-Bar
  • Speaking Into The Rose
  • Black Moon (alternate take)
Produced by Wilco

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2011, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles