FAME Review: Guy Clark - Songs and Stories
Guy Clark - Songs and Stories

Songs and Stories

Guy Clark

Dualtone Records - 80302

Available from Amazon.com.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This disc is a fantastic way to present Guy Clark, a live disc with he and his friends/cohorts presenting his songs and the stories that are surrounding the songs. Very intimate and low key with the focus on the songs and their presentation and what led up to them, thirteen songs and 23 cuts on the disc. Many of his best-known songs are here; L.A. Freeway, The Randall Knife, and Homegrown Tomatoes, as well as some not as well known, yet. The disc was recorded at the historic Belcourt Theater, first opened in 1925, a warm friendly venue that lends itself to closeness, mutual interaction particularly when admirers that have respect and know him populate the audience. He is also surrounded on stage by long time close friends and fellow pickers; Verlon Thompson, guitar and storyteller, Shawn Camp, guitar and mandolin, Bryn Davies, upright bass, Kenny Malone, percussion, and of course Guy Clark, lead vocal, lead guitar, and lead storyteller, the writer or co-writer of all but three of these honest songs from the heart.

One of the special things about this particular disc and the setting is that many of Mr. Clark's friends showed up to see him. There are references to his good friend Townes Van Zandt and he does Van Zandt's If I Need You, and tells a story about Townes and the song that won't be revealed here; there is a nod to Rodney Crowell, sitting in the audience, just before he does a poignant favorite the two of them wrote, Stuff That Works. The disc is a rare and intimate look into the caring and respect with which this Texas icon is held by his peers. It is a lot of what you get when you go to one of his shows, and if you get a chance that opportunity should not be overlooked. The playing here by this celebrated group is nothing short of spectacular and the depth of feeling that emanates from this disc gives it a familiarity that brings you closer to this artist that is most often missing on a live disc. Grab it!

Track List:

  • Introduction
  • L.A. Freeway
  • Sometimes They Come Easy
  • Maybe I Can Paint Over That
  • Townes' Road Keets
  • If I Needed You
  • Cape
  • Homegrown Tomatoes
  • Shawn and Verlon
  • The Legend of Sis Draper
  • Sis Drape
  • Magnolia Wind
  • I'm From Greasy Bend
  • Darwettia's Mandolin
  • Hang In There
  • Joe Walker's Mare
  • Stuff That Works
  • Out In the Parkin' Lot
  • The Randall Knife
  • Randall Knife
  • Curtain Call For the Cast
  • Dublin Blues

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2011, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles