FAME Review: Zachary Cale - Noise of Welcome
Zachary Cale - Noise of Welcome

Noise of Welcome

Zachary Cale

All Hands Electric - AHE-13

Available from All Hands Electric.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mark S. Tucker

Rather convenient surname this young gent carries, no? And, like the other, the more famous, Cale, Zach tends to bend the rock idiom into its antecedents and then flip it casually into the near future, maybe just tomorrow, though he does so more twangily and with definite Dylan leanings...except for the fact that the estimable Bob never decided to wend his way this smoothly nor quite so prog-folkily. In point, it may be that the very trick of carrying such simultaneity so adeptly accounts for Cale's growing acclaim, the inspissation of what one critic has called the "beautifully raw" with an almost chambery sophistication. This CD starts with the latter, a chill track carrying far-yesteryear overtones that yield into the Zimmermany Day for Night before heading back to Romantic fields in the brocaded Hello Oblivion. Then there's a melancholic Drakian interlude, We Had Our Day in the Sun, with its pinging fogs and serpentine pathways.

The entire repertoire is moody, as it should be with such lonely, lovelorn, torn, and broken souls and spirits, people trudging their way through life, angels sighing above, devils lurking below:

Weary we become with hardships daily born
As creases run across our brows so travelworn
And together we release our ashes to the wind
To scatter and spin beneath the light of the sun's descent

But there's a hopeful smile under the travail and bitter experience, a wistful vision of something better despite it all. The ten musicians accompanying the multi-instrumental troubadour create 4AD baroquity in a heartland vein, one informed by Tennyson and Blake, embroidering the poet's Old West tone with London airs, Manchester rime, and oft more than a hint of a ubiquitously seedy velveteen bordello next door to the town morgue. Thus, don't expect a flock of doves to alight on your speakers as you listen, more like a murder of crows with somnolent eyes and the memory of winter.

Track List:

  • Dead Channel Overture
  • Blake's Way
  • Day for Night
  • Hello Oblivion
  • Shanghaied
  • Nocturne in G Minor
  • Dancing Devil Rag
  • We had our Day in the Sun
  • Mourning Glory Kid
  • Easy Route
  • All to Order
  • War Love
All songs written by Zachary Cale
except Day for Night (Cale / Johnson).

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2011, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles