FAME Review: Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Live At Nassau Coliseum '78
Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Live At Nassau Coliseum '78

Live At
Nassau Coliseum '78

Emerson, Lake & Palmer

Shout Factory Records - 826663 12398

Available from Shout Factory Records' online store.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This concert, recorded February 9, 1978, is arguably Emerson, Lake, & Palmer at the peak of their live performances; and the fact that it holds up well 33 years later bears this out. This two-disc set delivers 17 tracks straight into the aural cavities. This never before released concert (it had been bootlegged, however just one listen to the sound quality here and it seems like something brand new and fresh) has had the sound painstakingly remastered from the original analog tapes in order to provide the listener with highest quality of sound, and it does deliver. The sound is almost too clear and clean to be believed, however just listening to it visually brings the band to the stage in front of your closed eyes as if they were performing in front of you. It is certainly an auditory treat to hear these versions of the songs.

This disc cements this bands place of importance to fans of what was called progressive rock; however it is really a fusion of classical, folk, and jazz. It is taking to new levels of cohesion the work of bands such as The Soft Machine and artists such as Kevin Ayers and Lol Coxhill who placed premiums on dissolving boundaries and combining diverse and seemingly disparate elements into an organic whole. Among the 17 tracks here you are running just under two hours of music. You have their hits such as Tarkus, Lucky Man, Pictures At An Exhibition and Fanfare For The Common Man, done in the long forms that prevailed at the concerts, as well as a number of other songs that didn't always receive the recognition they deserved. Shout Factory should be commended on the high quality in all ways of the double disc set.

Track List:

Disc 1Disc 2
  • Hoedown
  • Tarkus
  • Take A Pebble
  • Piano Concerto #1 - 1st Movement
  • Maple Leaf Rag
  • Take A Pebble (Reprise)
  • C'est La Vie
  • Lucky Man
  • Pictures At An Exhibition
  • Tiger In A Spotlight
  • Watching Over You
  • Tank
  • Drum Solo
  • The Enemy God Dances With The Black Spirits
  • Nutrocker
  • Pirates
  • Fanfare For The Common Man

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2011, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles