FAME Review: Davy Mooney - Ghosts of Music, Past
Davy Mooney - Ghosts of Music, Past

Ghosts of Music, Past

Davy Mooney

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Roberta B. Schwartz

Davy Mooney is a New Orleans born and raised jazz guitarist based in New York City. Mooney and his seven-string guitar have appeared on the great jazz stages across the globe. Most recently he completed a two-year stint with the Thelonious Monk Institute Septet. He has been the recipient of several fellowships, scholarships and awards in the field of jazz.

Throughout Mooney's young career as a jazz artist, he has had a sideline as a singer/songwriter, performing in coffeehouses, bars and smaller venues around the country. He sings in a soft, soothing tenor centered around stream of consciousness lyrics eliciting a dreamlike mood and feel. For a number of years he has been writing acoustic tunes, finally recording them between 2008 and 2009. According to Mooney, "these songs have haunted me like ghosts over the past five years, and I had no choice but to record them and by doing so exorcise the demon. Ghosts of Music, Past is the result of that process.

The opening cut, There and Back Again, is an upbeat tune describing the singer heading back on the road after a bit of heartache, but this time with his heart open and ready for whatever comes his way. It features the superb Rex Gregory on clarinet, and Mooney on guitar and vocals.

Noisy People describes a happy, dreamy island scene of "icicle morning[s]" and carnivals—a beautiful scene full of detailed descriptions. The sound of Scott Bourgeois on saxophone buoys us on this pleasant journey.

Over the Ocean is a pretty love song about a young man dreaming about his love coming for a visit from somewhere across the sea. The accompanying piano and melodica playing by Vadim Neselovskyi is simply lovely.

I love the soft and jazzy feel of Moon's Mood, with its layered vocals and simple guitar. It creates a sublime mix of late night love and gentle longing. It's one of the recording's best cuts and the truest to Mooney's roots.

Ghosts of Music, Past is a pleasure to listen to. It allows the listener to go along on Mooney's journey through dreamlike landscapes and gentle moods. His exquisite guitar, along with the fine instrumental backing of his topnotch ensemble of jazz players, place this production several notches above similar projects. Mooney is an artist and a dreamer. I look forward to whatever comes next for him.

Track List:

  • There and Back Again
  • The Captain's Daughter
  • The Noisy People
  • Trying
  • Only Summer
  • Summer Shower Song
  • Over the Ocean
  • Big Time
  • Cleveland
  • Maybe Tomorrow
  • The Last Goodbye
  • Lisa, Darling
  • Joanna
  • Moon's Mood
  • Christmas in November
All songs written by Davy Mooney

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2011, Peterborough Folk Music Society and Roberta B. Schwartz.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles