peace (1K)
FAME Review: Brittni Paiva - Four Strings: The Fire Within
Brittni Paiva - Four Strings: The Fire Within

Four Strings: The Fire Within

Brittni Paiva

Talimdim Productions - TPCD0909

Available from Brittni Paiva's online store.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mark S. Tucker

Uh-oh, looks like Jake Shimabukoro has competition! This young lady plays ukelele, guitar, and percussion, and while she can be quite dexterous on that diminutive four-string instrument, the uke, clean as a whistle, brisk as a fall wind, she favors the more picturesque side Al DiMeola and Stanley Jordan went for after the clamor for pyrotechnics died down. She also, however, gets a distinctly Benson-esque flavor redolent with essences of Hil and Bonfa. All of this pours into upbeat and happy compositions while never sacrificing a moment to superficiality.

Paiva possesses a true jazzwoman's sensibilities, a keen ear tilted to melodic and improvisational possibilities while keeping a tight rein on rhythm and concord. A super clean engineering job adds sparkle and layers to each cut, and her takes on Somewhere Over the Rainbow and Europa are going to put a bit of a sweat, and a smile, on Jake, the latter song carrying a surprisingly piano-esque tone. Then there's her handling of the guitar, all too briefly demonstrated and much too sporadically, as in Made for Me (a tune written for her husband) but which argues persuasively that Paiva really should be more up front with the instrument.

The Fire Within is entirely instrumental and features Rhythm Summit's (here) Dean Taba on bass. How, though, she managed that fanning/lead-line simultaneity on Fusion: West is beyond me, seemingly impossible for human hands, and, man, I wish she woulda carried Fusion: East on for half an hour. Reminded me of the old Hiroshima band getting a little more serious about its roots. And did I mention she's just 21? Yeah, I know, makes you feel like ya oughtta make toothpicks of the ol' Les Paul and reflect on a life misspent, doesn't it?

Track List:

  • Tamacun (Quitero / Sanchez)
  • Cruisin' on 7 (Brittni Paiva)
  • Sunday Morning (Carmichael / Dusick / Levine / Madden / Valentine)
  • Acelerou (Djavan Viana)
  • Hour of the Lamps (Johannes Lindstead)
  • Somewhere over the Rainbow (Arlen / Harburg)
  • Made for Me (Brittni Paiva)
  • Europa (Santana / Coster)
  • Fusion: West (Brittni Paiva)
  • Fusion: East (Brittni Paiva)

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2010, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles