peace (1K)
FAME Review: Marianne Dissard - Paris One Takes
Marianne Dissard - Paris One Takes

Paris One Takes

Marianne Dissard

Available as a free download from Marianne Dissard's web site.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

Paris One Takes is a full-length live studio album that is culled from her first album, L'Entredeux (produced by Joey Burns of Calexico), and her up-coming second album, L'Abandon, due out later this year. This disc was recorded in Paris, France in December 2009, with a band that had just come off 30 dates in a month in numerous European countries, and was extremely tight from the constant togetherness that touring like that fosters. It is available as a free download as a her way of saying thanks to all who helped her make her dreams come true. It is an interesting concept to put out a free downloadable disc so quickly into a career.

Mlle Dissard was born in France, lived in that country for most of her early life; she moved to the states in her teens and now resides in Tucson. She sings in French, and is quite accurately billed as a chanteuse (a female singer who sings in nightclubs and cabarets), which is where her musical sensibilities reside. Her music seamlessly mixes rock, Jazz particularly the Gypsy Jazz of Django Reinhardt, and cabaret music. She co-wrote twelve or the 14 songs that populate this disc. She has a wonderful breathy voice that fits with her material like a pair of well measured and hand made doeskin gloves on the hand they were made for. There are times when her voice reminds me of a young Marianne Faithfull in conjunction with the material. At one time I did speak French, but it is now so rusty that all I could do was catch the occasional word so I really have no idea what the songs are about.

Track List:

  • La Peau Du Lait (Marianne Dissard/Christian Ravaglioli)
  • Le Lendemain (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns)
  • L'Embellie (Marianne Dissard/Nam Amor)
  • Les Draps Sourds (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns)
  • Merci de Rien du Tout/Flashback (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns + Marianne Dissard/Nam Amor)
  • Les Confettis (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns)
  • Ce Visage-Là (Marianne Dissard/Naïm Amor)
  • Indiana Song (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns)
  • Trop Exprès (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns)
  • Sans-Façon (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns)
  • It's Love (Sergio Mendoza)
  • Le Jour de L'Anniversaire (Marianne Dissard/Christian Ravaglioli, Antonio Gramentieri, Mirko Monduzzi)
  • Cayenne (Marianne Dissard/Joey Burns)
  • El Pajaro Y El Ciervo (Brian Lopez)

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2010, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.
Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles