peace (1K)
Hollis Brown - Hollis Brown

Hollis Brown

Hollis Brown

Available from Hollis Brown's web site.

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Hollis Brown—vocalist/guitarist, Mike Montali; drummer, Michael Graves; bassist, Michael Wosczyk, and lead guitarist, Jon Bonilla—punch their way out of Queens with a spiky, retro-crunch, on their lively and most promising debut disc.

Kicking off with the pop shiny Show Love, these three Mikes and a Jon rock easily into the killer blues Walk On Water. Though I must admit they do get hung up on the lyrical premise "If you walk on water you've got to be ready to drown", (repeating the line, oh, maybe 30 times) the enthusiastic vibrancy of the track forgives all, and leads very Petty-like into Carolina, Carolina a swaggering, southern shuffle chutzpah rewrite of Mr. Dylan's It Takes A lot To Laugh (It Takes A Train To Cry). Passin' Me By bookends the initial quartet of songs with an irresistible radio ready twang. Pre-VH1 icon Petty flourishes abound (Completed Fool, 'Til The Morning) while the crackling, garage 'tude of Bills & Bucks and the surging, copulating riffs of Bring It Down makes Hollis Brown a completely refreshing listen.

Track List:

  • Show Love
  • Walk On Water
  • Carolina, Carolina
  • Passin' Me By
  • Without You Love
  • Completed Fool
  • No More Nights
  • 'Til The Morning
  • Bills & Bucks
  • Don't Wanna Miss You
  • Bring It Down
Produced by Jamie Siegel

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2009, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles