peace (1K)
The New Riders of The Purple Sage - Where I Come From

Where I Come From

The New Riders of The Purple Sage

Woodstock Records - 0028

Available from Woodstock Records.

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

The New Riders of The Purple Sage which originally started because of Jerry Garcia, Phil Lesh and Mickey Hart's desire to play more country music, morphed considerably over the years on their epic journey. David Nelson who at times wrote for and played with the Dead is now doing a lot of writing, seven new songs, with Jerry's old writing partner from the Dead days Robert Hunter, on this their first studio CD in twenty years. David Nelson is still playing guitar and singing and Buddy Cage has long been sitting in for Jerry on the Pedal Steel Guitar, with Michael Falzarano (guitar and vocals), Ronnie Penque (bass and vocals), and Johnny Markowski (drums and vocals) rounding out this latest edition of the band which has been touring for about 4 years. This edition of the band seems to have revitalized the old spirit that was prevalent in the beginning and the new songs carry on with that same energy and spirit that was there in the beginning. Whether it is the addition of these three new members, that happened in 2005, or the rekindling of the Hunter and Nelson songwriting partnership or a combination of the two, or just plain old alchemy, who cares, energy is back and this 12-song studio disc has captured the spirit and feel of the band in its heyday, and psychedelic country sound lives to gallop off toward the sunset and bring in more glorious evenings of music and fun. Kudos to Michael Falzarano for his work as the producer to get this live joy translated to the disc.

Track List:

  • Where I Come From (Robert Hunter & David Nelson)
  • Big Six (Robert Hunter & David Nelson)
  • Barracuda Moon (Robert Hunter & David Nelson)
  • Higher (Johnny Markowski & Bobby Driscoll)
  • Down The Middle (Robert Hunter & David Nelson)
  • Them Old Minglewood Blues (trad. arr. David Nelson)
  • Something In The Air Tonight (Michael Falzarano)
  • Olivia Rosa (Ronnie Penque)
  • Blues Barrel (Robert Hunter & David Nelson)
  • Ghost Train Blues (Robert Hunter & David Nelson)
  • Carl Perkins Wears The Crown (Michael Falzarano)
  • Rockin' With Nona (Robert Hunter & David Nelson)

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2009, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles