peace (1K)
Owen Temple - Dollars and Dimes

Dollars and Dimes

Owen Temple

El Paisano Records - EPR-0181

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This is Austin, Texas based Owen Temple's fifth studio effort and it contains eleven songs he wrote or co-wrote mostly about characters, the places they live, and the situations they become involved in. This is a disc that has some strong geographical influences, however it might not be in the way that first comes to mind. Temple describes characters and their situations in various regions of the country (these more in accord with Joel Garreau's The Nine Nations of North America than in conventional geography {frankly very fascinating}), an interesting concept for a singer/songwriter who is associated with the Texas singer/songwriters traditions. Some of the places where these stories unfold are Indiana, St Louis, the Canadian Rockies, and Memphis to name a few of them. Place is important here as is change and what it brings, both positive and negative to not only the physical location, but also the people and their lives. Sometimes it is our remembrances of our times there and the physicality of our lives in that precious time that has gone.

The songs are strong and take the listener on a journey that is worth the time and effort because we all struggle with the same things. There is no subterfuge in Temple's songs; no masked or veiled references, no hidden agendas, straightforward recollections (we all know about selective memory and the tricks it can play). The band is very tight and filled with some solid players from the Austin area. Gabriel Rhodes produced Dollars and Dimes and also plays numerous instruments including acoustic and electric guitars, pump organ, ukulele, and more, Will Sexton is on bass, electric guitar and Background vocals, Hunt Sales on drums, percussion, and electric guitar, Michael Thompson on piano, and Adam Carroll on harmonica. A solid effort that displays Temple's storytelling/songwriting beautifully.

Track List:

  • Broken Heart Land
  • Black Diamond
  • Making a Life
  • City of the King
  • Dollars and Dimes
  • Memphis
  • Los Angeles
  • I Don't Want to Do What I Do
  • Quiet Look
  • Golden Age
  • Winnipeg Waltz

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2009, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles