peace (1K)
Jimmy Robinson - Vibrating Strings

Vibrating Strings

Jimmy Robinson

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This interesting disc from the main songwriter and guitar player for the fusion band Woodenhead, is basically an acoustic solo disc. Fusion from this New Orleans band refers to both Jazz-rock and Progressive-rock and there are bits of both here, but Robinson tends to take more of a finger-picker folk approach.

On this disc he gets to display his chops on acoustic guitar. On these 17 songs, he wrote all but Jimi Hendrix's The Wind Cries Mary, and the Jimmy Page/John Bonham/Robert Plant, Kashmir, and the ones he wrote are a fairly varied lot.

There are moments when his exceedingly good use of the few people who do guest appearances add some great variety to mix-up the texture of the songs. He has Theresa Andersson on violin and vocals on three tracks, The Bonerama Horns are on, The Wind Cries Mary, and they do so much in a subtle way to give strong but definite nuance to the song, and Susan Cowsill does very subtle harmony vocal on I Can't Believe It.

It is when he adds these touches to the disc it breaks through from the softness that tends to enclose it. There is some wonderful finger and fret work, but with a lack other musicians, most of the time, to play off the songs the tracks begin to blend together and sound almost the same even though they aren't. His singing is in a soft manner and not strong enough to separate the songs and make them stand out. It is when he makes use of the guest musucuans that the disc soars. It is a strong wish that he would do it more.

Track List:

  • Big Blue
  • Long Slow Fall
  • Brian O'Neal
  • Dark Part Of The Night
  • I Can't Believe It
  • Pepi
  • Drinking Buddies
  • Pain
  • Vibrating Strings
  • New Deal
  • The Wind Cries Mary (Jimi Hendrix)
  • Murderous Intent
  • Lost Time
  • Hammers
  • This Bed Is Cold
  • E Phrygian
  • Kashmir (J. Page/J. Bonham/R. Plant)
All songs by Jimmy Robinson except as noted.

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2009, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles