peace (1K)
Jennie DeVoe - Strange Sunshine

Strange Sunshine

Jennie DeVoe

Available from iTunes after its release on July 21, 2009

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This Indianapolis based National guiitar playing singer/songwriter plays her songs in an acoustic funky blues/folk vein with a band behind her. She left these shores and took off across the great waters to England to make this record. She wrote all the lyrics on this disc the music is most often written by her and one or more band members, except for Foolproof, which was written by Tom Hambridge/Shannon Curfman. She has a very distinct way of putting her words out there; she doesn't so much sing them as spit them out roughly cutting them off, almost in a percussive manner. This at times adds to the songs but when it is overused it just becomes a gimmick. She does have a strong voice, that at times is breathy, that is quite expressive and on the rare occasions that she doesn't truncate the words but lets them naturally stretch with the music her voice becomes an instrument that shows strength and great emotional range. Listen to the hope, pathos and anguish she achieves with I Break Down" and Blind Faith, they are the points on the disc when she shines forth and elevates the songs to a whole other level that is much more moving. It will be interesting to see what directions she takes with her music.

Track List:

  • Strange Sunshine
  • Map of the World
  • No Damn Man
  • Exit 299
  • Foolproof
  • Butterfly
  • Nobody Loves You
  • Shoulda Stayed
  • I Break Down
  • Healer
  • Blind Faith
  • All This Love

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2009, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles