peace (1K)
Brigitte DeMeyer - Red River Flower

Red River Flower

Brigitte DeMeyer

Available from

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This disc, produced by Brady Blade, is Brigitte DeMeyer's fourth, and is sure to bring the accolades that are well deserved to this Americana artist. She wrote or co-wrote all but one of the 13 songs on this disc and the attention to her craft is rapidly gaining her a reputation as an artist on the rise. Red River Flower has a plethora of Americana artists playing in the backing band and has some of the most finished and best songs she has done to date. People such as Brady Blade handles the drums and percussion and also has Buddy Miller on guitar and background vocals, Chris Donahue on upright and electric bass, Al Perkins on pedal steel guitar, lap steel guitar, dobro, and background vocals on one cut, Mike Henderson on electric and acoustic guitars as well as mandolin and Phil Madeira on Hammond B3 organ, electric and acoustic guitars, piano and background vocals, with Regina McCrary and Gayle Mayes on background vocals.

Right from the opening finger-popping notes of Looking For Moses, which has a sort of out behind the church or playground feel to it, you know this is a special disc. The songwriting is her strongest yet and she has garnered comparisons to the best of Americana songwriters such as Steve Earle. There is that melding of the gospel church feel with the strut and funk of New Orleans where the music has the familiarity of the church and the danger of the unknown life filled with the temptations of the flesh. The band gives her plenty of room to display and flesh out the songs, while at the same time giving her the strong support platform from which to spring and take the chances which make this disc work so beautifully. A very strong effort and one that deserves a good listen, she is a force to be reckoned with.

Track List:

  • Looking For Moses
  • Without You
  • Wicked to Win
  • Bird
  • Shepherd
  • Justice
  • All You've Got to Lose
  • Sweet Lady Rosa
  • A Moment's Refugee
  • Running On You
  • Meant For Mine
  • An Old Song
  • When I'm Gone

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2009, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles