peace (1K)
Autumn - Velvet Sky

Velvet Sky


Bull Creek Music

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

Autumn's "Velvet Sky", sure surprised the innards out of me, and it was in a very pleasant and energizing way. With a stage name of Autumn and a title with the softness of both velvet and sky, one might expect soft music that is great for background when friends are chatting. This comes nowhere near those limits. Without being loud or intrusive, it is a disc that requires your attention and on far more than just one level. There are twelve songs of which she either wrote or co-wrote seven of them, Walt Wilkins had a hand in four, and there is a beautiful cover of Patty Griffin's, Nobody's Crying. The songs are intelligent, nothing held back look at life, and demand your attention because it is apparent that they contain the pithy mix of metaphor and substance that makes songs memorable, and makes you want to hear them. Autumn and producers Walt Wilkins and Tim Lorsch, who also contribute guitar and violin, octave violin, and cello respectively, recruited some of the best of Austin's players to contribute to it. There are players such as Dave Jacques on bass and upright bass, Fats Kaplan on accordion, and Danny Flowers on guitars to name merely a few of those that contribute their playing and experience to this sophomore effort of hers.

Autumn uses a rich palette from which to compose her word pictures; there are painted with the best of folk from the fertile Texas tradition of the story teller, with singing inspired by the counter harmonies of gospel music, and Americana or roots music. It is one of those rich mosaics of music that seems to develop new levels with every listening. A true gem that has been shaped for our pleasure, enjoy this it is one of the finest to come along in quite a while.

Track List:

  • Rain Down
  • Trees
  • We Made the Spirits Move (w/ Walt Wilkins)
  • Trains I Missed
  • Cowgirl Confessions
  • Higher
  • Velvet Sky (w/ Tina Mitchell Wilkins)
  • Eagles (w/ Ryan Turner)
  • Sunny
  • Nobody's Crying
  • Paint
  • Lessons Never Learned (w /Sam Baker)

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2008, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles