peace (1K)
Ry Cooder - The UFO Has Landed: The Ry Cooder Anthology

The UFO Has Landed:
The Ry Cooder Anthology

Ry Cooder

Rhino Records - R2 515893

Available from Rhino Records

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Please remember that before musicians, PR drones, radio geneticists, and SoundScan devised lazy clichés as 'authentic, roots oriented Americana' and 'world musics' as buzz words and micro-playlists, Ry Cooder—guitar in hand and ears wide open to whatever riff blew across Chavez Ravine—was playing Chicano Rn'B Tex Mex Hawaiian Appalachian blues funk as naturally as he breathed.

So as nifty and groove-ilicious as this 34-track anthology is, it barely scratches the surface of the legacy Cooder has accomplished in his spotlight shunning, masterful way. Whether solo (Paradise and Lunch, Chicken Skin Music, this year's consummate I, Flathead); sideman (I'll unabashedly namedrop just a few: Randy Newman, The Stones, Ronstadt, Flaco Jimenez, Zevon, Muldaur, Taj Mahal, Beefeheart, and Pat Boone—Yes! Pat Boone!); film scorer (among many Alamo Bay, Paris, Texas, Dead Man Walking); and producer/musicologist (Buena Vista Social Club, anyone?) Cooder may, after forty-plus years, appear the high brow priest of eclecticism, and if that's your take you haven't heard a damn thing the man has played! The slink and seduction, growl and silk, the blue dust and vibrant dance of every note played and the spaces left open runs contrary to what those damned micro-playlists vainly try to segregate: That all music is mutual, the voice of many people dancing as one.

Track List:

Disc OneDisc Two
  • Get Rhythm
  • Low Commotion
  • Available Space
  • On a Monday
  • Do Re Mi
  • Which Came First
  • The Very Thing That Makes You Rich (Makes You Poor)
  • Down In Hollywood
  • Smells Like Money
  • Let's Work Together
  • I Got Mine
  • Cherry Ball Blues
  • Jesus On The Mainline
  • Tattler
  • Teardrops Will Fall
  • Maria Elena
  • Jesse James
  • Paris, Texas
  • Theme From Southern Comfort
  • Tamp 'Em Up Solid
  • Billy The Kid
  • Crazy 'Bout An Automobile Every Woman I Know)
  • Drive Like I Never Been Hurt
  • Feelin' Bad Blues
  • Boomer's Story
  • How Can You Keep Moving (Unless You Migrate Too)
  • Alimony
  • Always Lift Him Up/Kanaka Wai Wai
  • Theme From Alamo Bay
  • Dark End Of The Street
  • Why Don't You Try Me
  • Poor Man's Shangri-La
  • Going Back To Okinawa
  • Little Sister
Compilation produced by Joachim Cooder

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2008, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles