peace (1K)
Steve Howell - My Mind Gets To Ramblin'

My Mind Gets To Ramblin'

Steve Howell


Available from Steve Howell's web site.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Tampa Blue
[tampablue AT]

Steve Howell's My Mind Gets To Ramblin' is about as near to perfection as I have heard in a long time!

Thirteen covers, mostly old blues classics, delivered with such style and feeling that the original bluesmen are applauding from their graves.

Howell opens with a completely satisfying version of Muddy Waters' I Can't Be Satisfied. He has mellowed the tune a bit from Muddy's and turned it into a strut that is a delight to hear. Next up is a version of Mississippi Fred McDowell's Louise. Hot, hot, hot! Imagine R.L. Burnside meets Mississippi John Hurt. Howell paid attention to McDowell's declaration, "I don't play no rock and roll" but still brings this tune forward with a understated drive that just absolutely works.

Understated. A great way to describe the bulk of what Howell delivers on this CD. The guitar work is first rate without being "in your face." The vocals have a gentle coarseness that easily seduce you into the reality of the songs. The use of base and drums on material not normally associated with these instruments. The top notch be simple and clean production work. All this builds a musical collection that anyone into acoustic, country blues should rush to include in their library.

The cover of All My friends Are Gone, also known and Delia is one of the saddest versions I've ever heard. Mississippi Blues is such a chestnut that most folks should stay away from recording it but Howell's handling is so right on that he gets away with it. And the Robert Johnson, Rev. Robert Wilkins and J.D. Loudermilk covers are equally strong.

Track List:

  • I Can't Be Satisfied (Muddy Waters)
  • Louise (Mississippi Fred McDowell)
  • All My Friends Are Gone (Public Domain)
  • Mississippi Blues (Willie Brown)
  • Policy Blues (Bo Carter)
  • Steady Rollin' Man (Robert Johnson)
  • Ain't Nothin' In Ramblin' (Memphis Minnie)
  • Prodigal Son (Rev. Robert Wilkins)
  • Dirty Deal Blues (Rev. Robert Wilkins)
  • Windy & Warm (John D. Loudermilk)
  • Ain't You Sorry (Mance Lipscomb)
  • Joshua F'it The Battle Of Jericho (Public Domain)
  • Rowdy Blues (Kid Bailey)

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2008, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles