peace (1K)
The Buckerettes - The Buckerettes

The Buckerettes

The Buckerettes

Available from CD Baby

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mark S. Tucker

If you have any ear at all, you hafta've liked the Lennon Sisters, the Andrews Sister, the Brother Sisters, the Sister Sisters, and any of the swingin' wimmens groups who blended sweet harmony with genre musics. Well, cowgirls Deb Criss, Robin Cape, and Roberta Greenspan are that kinda ensemble, kickin' their booted be-spurred heels up in the dust, ridin' the fences and draglines, and warbling about the old, the new, the nonsensical, the silly, the lightly serious, and, of course, the plight of the cowgirl in the 21st century, a topic even Nietzsche was daunted by.

There's more fun, chuckles, and giggles here than a passle of armadillos tanked on Kickapoo joy juice trading Dasypodidae puns and one-liners, but there's also a quite decent modicum of very satisfying instrument playing as well, as Cowgirl in Paris and Dancing Heart / Crooked Smile / Timeless Hugs especially illustrate. The ladies play their own instruments handily with no sessioneers, so everything you get on this CD is 100% gin-yoo-wine Buckerettes. Expect a good deal of Dan Hicksy mellow & swingin' too-coolness throughout, 'cause what the Buckerettes are doing ain't being covered by many, and we sure could use a lot more of it. This CD is of that rare idea that music can be non-stop fun while true to tradition. Even the gospel closing number, Walk in the Light, has a perkiness to it that's probably a bit too secular for some but is just fine by me.

Track List:

  • Zen Cowgirl (Robin Cape)
  • Bumblebee (Deb Criss)
  • Tear in the Sun (Deb Criss)
  • Wide Open Range (The Buckerettes)
  • Beamer (Deb Criss)
  • Cowgirl in Paris (Robin Cape)
  • Dancing Heart (Roberta Greenspan) / Crooked Smile (Roberta Greenspan) / Timeless Hugs (Roberta Greenspan)
  • Shadowdancing Blues (Robin Cape)
  • Sweneo (Deb Criss)
  • Hawaiian Cowgirl Polka (Roberta Greenspan)
  • Workin' It Up! (Robin Cape)
  • Cowgirls on the Rio (Deb Criss)
  • Bring Me to Love (Roberta Greenspan)
  • Meta Rides (Deb Criss)
  • Walk in the Light (traditional)

Edited by: David N. Pyles


Copyright 2009, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles