peace (1K)
The Campbell Brothers and Friends - Rallytime!


The Campbell Brothers
and Friends

Tulip Records

Available from Mark Stone's web site.

A review written for the Folk and Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This is one of the most electrifying bands playing anywhere, and if they are appearing anywhere near you, don't even think about it, just go. That this disc was recorded live in New Orleans in April of 2006 (during Jazz Fest) at the Old Point Bar, and was a benefit concert produced by Marc Stone, who also produced the CD, for the New Orleans Musicians Clinic, and took this long to get to our ears, is more than made up for by the capturing of some of their energy (nothing takes the place of a live performance), however this corrals a large portion of it. The Campbell Brothers; Chuck (pedal steel), Darick (lap steel), and Phillip (guitar all tracks, and midi guitar piano/organ on 1 & 7, vox w/solo on 5), along with Phillip's son, Carlton (drums) are built like NFL linemen and their tiny cousin, Denise Brown with the huge, volume and range, expressive voice along with Malcolm Kirby (bass) are the core of the band; there are 2 background singers (and don't relegate them to the background as they are good) Tiffany Godette and Cinnamon. The special guests are almost superfluous, although not insignificant, Shannon McNally, Sean Carey, and Arlee Leonard (bg vox and each has a solo on cut 3), Dave Easley (pedal steel solo on cut 3), Kirk Joseph (sousaphone 2,4,7), Tim Green (tenor sax solos 3,4), Eddie Croft (tenor sax 1,2,4,7), Jamelle Williams (trumpet 1,2,4,7), Marc Adams (organ 5).

This is some of the most expressive music you are ever going to hear, the band members make their instruments into voices that echo the feelings, be they sadness and/or joy and praise in the song. Just listen to the emotionally stunning instrumental version of the remarkable Sam Cooke tune, A Change Is Gonna Come, that brings forth all the suffering and pathos of his version. When you see them there is electricity in the air that is palpable and powerful, and it get you up off your bottom end and moving with the music. Guarantee!

Track List:

  • The Judgement
  • Put A Little Love In Your Heart
  • The Storm Is Passing Over
  • Rallytime
  • Understand It Better
  • Spontaneous Praise Jam
  • A Change Is Gonna Come

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2008, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles