peace (1K)
Ani DiFranco - Live At Babeville

Live At Babeville

Ani DiFranco

Righteous Babe Records - RBR056 DVD

Available from Righteous Babe Records.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Coming back after baby with a new band in an 1871-era church she rescued from demolition and remodeled into a music hall, DiFranco never lets a moment lapse on this full length concert DVD.

With long time accomplice bassist Todd Sickafoose, rhythmically dexterous Allison Miller on drums and ambient vibraphonist Mike Dillon, Ani celebrates her premier shows at Babeville with a different, but by no stretch of the imagination any less visceral or intense energy than that first explosive show I saw back a decade ago.

Confident, dominant, challenging, and ever evolving, Ani opens her rich and serpentine repertoire to new moods and expressions that 98% of her peers have forgotten or sadly abandoned. Recorded on September 11th & 12th, 2007, 'Live At Babeville' is full of indelible highlights including Swim, Fuel, Marrow, Sunday Morning, Gravel, You Had Time, and Shy. Bonus features include an interview with Ani discussing the restoration project and three sound check/rehearsals.

Track List:

  • Napoleon
  • Pesent/Infant
  • Swim
  • Not A Pretty Girl
  • Fuel
  • Independence Day
  • Paradigm
  • Marrow
  • Sunday Morning
  • Unrequited
  • Shy
  • You Had Time
  • Alla This
  • In The Way
  • Gravel
  • Little Plastic Castle
  • Overlap
  • Hypnotized
Produced by Bennett Chandler

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2008, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles