peace (1K)
Various Artists - City Of Dreams: A Collection of New Orleans Music

City Of Dreams:
A Collection of
New Orleans Music

Various Artists

Rounder Records – 11661 2196 2

Available from the Rounder Records Store.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

a line

No flash title needed for this one. Just a funky, feral, and fervent four disc accounting of Rounder’s respected quarter century association with the eclectically ecstatic and soulful residents of the city of dreams.

The second line marches through the Crescent streets and its unique, traveling history as Ruth Brown, Irma Thomas, "Gatemouth" Brown and Professor Long Hair concur. Strolling through the parishes, the Dirty Dozen Jazz Band, Champion Jack Dupree, and the New Orleans Saxophone Ensemble sweat it up and lay it down. James Booker and Eddie Bo play piano in the parlor while in the juke kitchens, Johnny Adams, Tracy Nelson, The Ed Frank Quintet, and Theryl Houseman de’Clouet boil down the crawfish.

Many of these 48 tracks, depending on your point of view and reference, may or may not be the cuts that made the legends, but they do vibrantly and most defiantly prove why the legends, despite the all-out efforts of nature and our government; despite the ho-hum indifference and short attention span of our general citizenry and the world stage, sustain.

Track List:

Disc 1: Big Easy BluesDisc 2: Street Beat
  • Carnival Time — Al Johnson
  • Sing It — Marcia Ball, Irma Thomas & Tracy Nelson
  • Drawers Trouble — Chuck Carbo
  • Just Because — Johnny Adams
  • Don't Mess With My Man — Irma Thomas
  • Check Mr. Popeye — Eddie Bo
  • You Talk Too Much — Joe Jones
  • Big Shot — Marcia Ball
  • I Bowed On My Knees — Davell Crawford
  • Drink Jax Beer — Ramsey McLean & the Survivors
  • Go On Fool — Ruth Brown
  • Dollar Got the Blues — Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown
  • Feel Like Funkin' It Up — ReBirth Brass Band
  • Sew-Sew-Sew — The Golden Eagles Featuring Monk Boudreaux
  • Cuttin' Out — Professor Longhair
  • Shoo-Fly — Bo Dollis and Monk Boudreaux with ReBirth Brass Band
  • Royal Flush — New Orleans Nightcrawlers
  • It Ain't What You Think — The Dirty Dozen Brass Band
  • T. Chapman — All That
  • No It Ain't My Fault — Dejan's Olympia Brass Band
  • Golden Crown — Bo Dollis & the Wild Magnolias
  • St. Louis Blues — The Chosen Few Brass Band
  • If My Shoes Hold Out — Alvin "Red" Tyler
  • Just A Little While To Stay Here — ReBirth Brass Band
Disc 3: Funky New OrleansDisc 4: Ivory Emperors
  • You Can Stay But The Noise Must Go On — Walter "Wolfman" Washington
  • Ain't No Yachts in the Ghetto — Theryl "Houseman" de'Clouet
  • Rough Spots — George Porter, Jr. (of The Meters)
  • Flow On — All That
  • A Corn For Crip — The Ed Frank Quintet
  • Keeper Of The Crown — Bo Dollis & Willie Tee with Dr. John
  • Body And Fender Man — Johnny Adams
  • Gemini Rising — The New Orleans Saxophone Ensemble
  • Sweet Touch Of Love — Irma Thomas
  • Here We Go Again — Solomon Burke
  • Funkyard — Walter "Wolfman" Washington
  • House That Jack Built — Davell Crawford
  • Hard Times — Eddie Bo
  • Classified — James Booker
  • Every Day, Every Night — Professor Longhair
  • Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most — David Torkanowsky
  • Tee Nah Nah — Tuts Washington
  • On The Q-Tee — Willie Tee
  • Gumbo Piano — Davell Crawford
  • All By Myself — James Booker
  • My Children — Art Neville
  • I Don't Know — Champion Jack Dupree
  • Go To The Mardi Gras — Professor Longhair
  • Do you Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans — Tuts Washington

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2007, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles