peace (1K)
Various Artists - Give Us Your Poor

Give Us Your Poor

Various Artists

Appleseed Records - APR CD 1103

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jutkovic

a line

Two years in the making, this fund-raising CD created by Appleseed Recordings and the national Give US Your Poor organization at UMass Boston's McCormack Graduate School brings together established musicians, socially committed actors and currently or previously homeless musicians in a collection of mostly exclusive new recordings that address the ongoing crisis of homelessness in America.

Dramatizing that homelessness cuts across and into all racial, cultural, and economic lines, this seventeen track compilation starts off with a jazz/hop groove featuring a chorus of Minnesota's homeless and moves through every musical hybrid. Featuring Bruce Springsteen, Pete Seeger, Madeleine Peyroux, Keb' Mo', Bonnie Raitt, Bon Jovi, Jewel, Natalie Merchant, Sweet Honey In The Rock, Danny Glover, and Tim Robbins.

The majority of the profits raised by Give US Your Poor will be spent, on the national level, in pushing for legislation and awareness/action programs designed to stem the growing crisis of homelessness, and, on the local level, to fund homeless shelters. All of the professional musicians involved donated their time and are waiving artists' royalties for contributions.

Track List:

  • Land of 10,000 Homeless—Minnesota
  • Show Me the Way—Jon Bon Jovi & Mighty Sam McClain
  • Baby Don't Let Me Go Homeless—Keb' Mo' & Eagle Park Slim
  • There Is No Good Reason—Natalie Merchant & Friends
  • Hobo's Lullaby—Bruce Springsteen & Pete Seeger
  • So Lonely—Sonya Kitchell
  • Becky's Tune—Michelle Shocked & Michael Sullivan
  • Walking the Dog—Bonnie Raitt & Weepin' Willie Robinson
  • My Name Is Not 'Those People—Danny Glover
  • I Think It's Going to Rain Today—Madeleine Peyroux
  • Portable Man—Del Goldfarb & John Sebastian
  • Boll Weevil—Dan Zanes & Kyla Middleton
  • Ink Falling (Father Outside)—Buffalo Tom
  • Stranger Blues—Sweet Honey in the Rock
  • 1,000 Miles Away—Jewel
  • Impossible Boulevard—Tim Robbins
  • Feels Like Home—Mario Frangoulis
  • When We Left Minneapolis—Danny Glover
  • Here and Now—Mark Erelli

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2007, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles