peace (1K)
Roddie Romero and the Hub City All-Stars - The La Louisianne Sessions

The La Louisianne Sessions

Roddie Romero and
The Hub City All-Stars

Octavia Records

Available from CD Baby.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Bob Gottlieb

This is Roddie Romeroís 5th release, and it seems the first one for this group as a working aggregate, and they come out showing their best with a double disc containing 23 songs and more than 85 minutes of sheer music joy. This is the joyous, infectious, put a smile on your face music of house dances and partying that southwest Louisiana is known for. It is the music of a reviving culture, Cajun, melding with the country music of the prairies and the blues, the solid Zydeco rhythms and the natural rhythms of swamp. It is dark and dusky, and at the same time light and accessible on many different levels. Some of the songs are traditional to the area and there are twelve originals that are written by some member or members of the band though Eric Adcock seems to be the bandís main songwriter. These musicians are all accomplished players and play in a variety of other bands that form and move about in that area of the country. You can hear many of these musicians playing in various combinations on the Medicine Show discs which might still might be available at (they are very hard to find but worth it).

Roddie Romero has a good voice that is soulful and is well suited to the material; he is a master of the accordion, and very adapt with slide and acoustic guitar. Eric Adcockís keyboards, piano, Hammond B3, organ and Wurlitzer add a depth and dimension to the music that is not heard in many bands that play this swampy blend of music, he also lends a hand on the scrubboard. Kyle Herbert on electric and acoustic bass; Dudley Fruge, on drums, percussion, and background vocals; and Michael Juan Nunez on electric guitar and dobro round out the band. There are a large number of guests that help out with filling out the sound, and Lilí Buck Senegal, electric guitar, Al Berard, mandolin, Theresa Anderson, background vocals, and the tremendous sax work of Pat Breaux stand out. These are good solid discs that put the smile on your face and gets your feet to dancing and chases your cares away. What more could you ask for.

Track List:

Disc 1Disc 2
  • Party Down
  • Good Hearted Man
  • Lazy Lawyer
  • Johnnie Can't Dance
  • Viens Avec Moi
  • Hang My Head
  • I Say It Out Loud
  • No Turnarounds (Brand New Day)
  • Joe Pitre
  • Scott Playboy Special
  • Live Another Day
  • Riverside
  • Kawann
  • Mama's Fried Chicken
  • Love Is Eternity
  • It Ain't Easy
  • Hey 'Tit Fille
  • I'll Be Sanctified
  • Zydeco Sont Pas Sale
  • Tes Yeux Bleu
  • Mamou Two-Step
  • Hebert Jig (bonus track)
  • Poche Bridge (bonus track)

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2007, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

a line

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

a line

Return to Home Page

a line

Website design by David N. Pyles