peace (1K)
Joe Jencks - Rise As One

Rise As One

Joe Jencks

To buy Joe Jencks CD's please call
Turtle Bear Music toll-free 877-485-2479.

A review for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange written
by Mike Jurkovic

Jencks almost didn’t’ release this concert until that little voice in his head and the insistence of fellow union musician Charlie Pilzer brought him back to this spirited collection, recorded in 2005 live in Washington, DC.

Rise As One traces the roots of labor music starting with Step by Step its lyrics quoted from the constitution of the American Miners Union, circa 1860. With a powerful, clear voice Jencks’ then leads his listeners through a forceful John Henry; an evocative Deprotees; Deborah Van Kleef’s newsworthy The Great Fast Food Strike and Florence Reese’ empowering Which Side Are You On’. Timely and provocative Jencks’ tunes include Christmas In Mansfield and the rousing title track.

Track List:

  • Step by Step
  • John Henry
  • Phil (Spoken Word)
  • Song of the Rails
  • Deportees
  • The Great Fast Food Strike
  • Which Side Are You On
  • Christmas in Mansfield
  • The Everett Massacare (Spoken Word)
  • The House That Jack Built
  • Real People (Spoken Word)
  • Room Here for Another
  • We Won
  • War On The Workers
  • We Do The Work
  • Bremerton (Spoken Word)
  • Rosie the Riveter Revisited
  • Sixteen Tone
  • Working Class Philanthropy (Spoken Word)
  • Rise as One
Produced by: Joe Jencks

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2003, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles