peace (1K)
Dan Reeder - Sweetheart


Dan Reeder

Oh Boy OBR-036

Available from Oh Boy Records.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

The nice thing about Dan Reeder's music is that, like his impressionistic, child-like paintings, he keeps the inner kid alive, safely away from the grumpy, switched-off adults we all teeter-totter perilously close to.

Sounding like a more folkified John Prine (his label-mate), Reeder gives voice the little nits and nings that ding our armor. Not being a coffee-hound, I can't say I've experienced the long waits for one's caapuccino, (Waiting For My Cappucccino) but I have waited for other things, so I'm simpatico. Just Leave Me Alone Today and You Should Have Wrote A Book echo perfectly how I feel today, as a matter of fact.

Thinkin' bout sex while playing his own hand made guitars and trash basses, Reeder puts into simple words what we all sometime voice, or keep just above the surface. Sweetheart may not set the world on fire, but that's not its intention.

Not that it matter to me, and it's all meant in good humor, some may find that a couple songs on Sweetheart contain explicit lyrics

Track List:

  • Waiting For My Cappuccino
  • Just A Tune
  • You'll Never Surf Again
  • I Drink Beer
  • Bach Is Dead And Gone
  • You Should Have Wrote A Book
  • Shoot Me To The Moon
  • 99 Friends Of Mine
  • Beautiful
  • Cowboy Song
  • Pussy Titty
  • Pussy Heaven
  • I Don't Really Want To Talk To You
  • All My Money
  • Just Leave Me Alone Today
  • A White Shade Of Pale
Produced by Dan Reeder

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2006, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles