peace (1K)
ilyAIMY - The Fifth Circle

The Fifth Circle


Avaliable from ilyAIMY's web site.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

I like the energized folk/punk/jazz hybrid that Rob Hinkal (guitar, vocals); Heather Lloyd (guitar, vocals, djembe), pianist, bassist Sharif Kellog and percussionist Rowan Corbett are creating as ilyAIMY.

Thriving in the Baltimore environs, ilyAIMY (i love you And I Miss You) not only have a sound that churns the obvious influences — DiFranco and grunge — into a acoustically roiling, combustible attack on the usual singer/songwriter fare, they have an interesting sidebar story: Each of these fourteen, challenging melodic statements were financed by fans through a series of Ebay auctions.

But it's the music that matters, and that's the driving consciousness behind ilyAIMY. With their vocals and guitars locked into the same inspiration, Hinkal and Lloyd give the quartet their immediate focus: well crafted, thoughtful songs (In The Water, Valeri, Will). Shariff's stately and intuitive piano give Illinois is Overflowing and Pocketing their haunted elegance. When his Pastorius-like bass lines are melded with Corbett's stirring percussive tumult (Drown, Pine, Strain) the landscape created allows a hair-trigger vocal/lyrical integrity that you'll only hear here. So listen.

Track List:

  • Drown
  • Pine
  • March of the Rabbit
  • In the Water
  • Valeri
  • Illinois is Overflowing
  • Pocketing
  • No Place is Home
  • Bulldozer
  • Rob's Lament
  • Strain
  • Will
  • Letters From The Front
  • Counting
Produced by ilyAIMY

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2006, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles