peace (1K)
The Kickin Grass Band - On the Short Rows

On The Short Rows

The Kickin Grass Band

Available from CD Baby

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Might as well blurt it out early: I like this disc a lot.

Infusing old-timey bluegrass with contemporary-radio ready country-rock On The Short Rows Kickin Grass' effusive sophomore disc, lends itself easily to well deserved, repeated listenings. You can feel their onstage exuberance from the kick-off original Lay Down Your Weary Load and the engaging title track (itself an engaging rewrite of the traditional In The Jailhouse Now); through other endearing originals as Fairest Rose and Molly.

The players - Lynda Wittig Dawson - lead vocals, guitar, Jaime Dawson - mandolin, vocals, Ben Walters - banjo, vocals, Patrick Walsh - bass, vocals, and Matt Hooper - fiddle all share in the songwriting and have their hearts in all the right places.

To borrow from the band's PR: Kicking Grass falls perfectly in the space between Earl Scruggs and Bela Fleck But that leads to my disclaimer: Even with all the vibrant a-pickin' 'n' a-playin', high harmonizing and swing,: How is Kicking Grass going to claim that space as their own?

Track List:

  • Lay Down Your Weary Load
  • On The Short Rows
  • Cloverleaf
  • Dear Sarah
  • Change Your Mind
  • Molly
  • Fairest Rose
  • When My Days Are Full Of Sorrow
  • Pot Liquor
  • Hello It's Me
  • Rock Island Line
  • Ain't Got Nothin'
  • Grandfather's Clock
Produced by Jerry Brown and Kicking Grass

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2006, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles