peace (1K)
Tara Greenblatt - River Belly

River Belly

Tara Greenblatt

Available from CD Baby

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Though lyrically strident at times (Daddy's Chest, Let Them Be) and a bit indulgent (20 tracks, including studio noise and two un-inspired 'Drum Improvisations') there's a lot of good things to be heard on Greenblatt's second recording.

Some of those good things are the organic sound of her djembe drumming, adding an exotic landscape to her folky, roots based songs. Another is her voice, a soaring, expressive instrument, texturing her lyrical observations with both the bright and dark sides of this life. Still another good thing is the New England talent she surrounds herself with, including Boston bluesman Peter Parcek, pianist Mark Shilansky, guitarist Brian Potts, bassist Richard Hodges, and Wendy Wetherbee singing harmony.

Highlight tracks: God's Bad Jokes, She Keeps In Touch and Ground Beneath Where I Lay.

Track List:

  • Funeral Song
  • Ms. Hand
  • Studio Noise
  • Glimpse
  • God's Bad Jokes
  • Steel Drum Improv. #1
  • Daddy's Chest
  • Studio Noise
  • Song of Defiance
  • Studio Noise
  • Let Them Be
  • Steel Drum Improv. #2
  • She Keeps in Touch
  • Studio Noise
  • Kittens
  • Sing it While You Got it
  • Studio Noise
  • Ground Beneath Where I Lay
  • So Far
  • Owen Noise
Produced by Jay Williston

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2005, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles