peace (1K)
New Monsoon -  The Sound

The Sound

New Monsoon


Harmonized Records
6520 Oak Grove Church Road
Mebane, NC 27302

Available from New Monsoon's web site.

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Latin, Brazilian and Indian percussion, drum set, didgeridoo, electric and acoustic guitars, banjo, mandolin, bass and keyboards propel these San Francisco alchemists frothy tonic of rock and world beat; texturing their artful original music, with diverse yet convergent rhythms, ideas and moods.

Co-producers Michael Shrieve (original Santana drummer) and Paul Kimble (whose production work includes Grant Lee Buffalo and Venus In Furs) capture an exciting sound like early Santana in a good yet less ominous way. The driving, percussion fury of Brian Carey, Marty Yitaldo, and Rajiv Parikh gives ample space for guitarists Jeff Miller and Bo Carper to soar and invent. Bassist Ben Bernstein ties it all together while Phil Ferlino on a host of keyboards adds the icing. Highlight tracks: Journey Man, Another Night in Purgatory, Broken Picture Window and Hold On For Now.

Track List:

  • Journey Man
  • Trust in Me
  • The Sound
  • Sunrise
  • Dark Perimeter
  • Another Night in Purgatory
  • Broken Picture Window
  • Rock Springs Road
  • Bridge of the Gods
  • Hold on For Now
  • Falling Out of Trees
Produced by: Michael Shrieve and Paul Kimble

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2005, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles