peace (1K)
Bob Franke - The Other Evening In Chicago

The Other Evening In Chicago

Bob Franke


Waterbug Records
P. O. Box 83
Glen Ellyn IL 60138

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Mike Jurkovic

Folk festival goers, songwriter workshoppers and FAME regulars know Bob Franke: His endearing personae and enduring songs. Hoepfully, with this new release, many more will get to know him too.

By making the stage his back porch, Frankeís calmness not only palpably envelopes his Chicago audience, but also those of us hearing 2nd, 3rd and 4th handedly. Thereís an awareness in such songs as — Alleluia, The Great Storm Is Over, Hard Love, My Loverís T-Shirts, Thanksgiving Eve, Love Bravely, Elizabeth, A Still Small Voice — that we all row the same boat. This is what Franke does without cliché. Reminding us that we all put our left foot in front of our right no matter where our journey takes us. Luckily, we have his recordings as our soundtrack.

Track List:

  • Kitchen Boy
  • William the Streak
  • Alleluia, The Great Storm is Over
  • Catfish
  • Hard Love
  • My Loverís T-shirts
  • My Favorite Women
  • Love Bravely, Elizabeth
  • For Real
  • A Healing In This Night
  • Collateral Damage
  • Source
  • Thanksgiving Eve
  • Acid Polka
  • Day of the Dead
  • Sleeping Hearts
  • A Still Small Voice
Produced by Rich Warren

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2006, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles