peace (1K)
John Prine - Fair & Square

Fair & Square

John Prine

Oh Boy Records (OBR-034)

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Michael Jurkovic

You would honestly assume that Prine's first disc after nine years and a successful recovery from cancer would unwrap itself and jump merrily into my CD player, but alas, it took a few days. Now it can stay there as long as it wants.

Fair & Square full heartedly snuggles up alongside the man's best - Lost Dogs and Mixed Blessings, John Prine Sweet Revenge, and Bruised Orange. Prickly, deadpan, and back porch beautiful, Prine settles into the details of this life and invites us to do the same. From the jangly, big hearted happiness of Glory of True Love ("Never goes out of fashion/Always will look good on you"); to the wild pursuit of fame and fortune on Crazy As A Loon' ("Got hired Monday morning/Downsized that afternoon"), Prine mines the spirit, finding it, for the most part, simple and true. That is, until Some Humans Ain't Human where, with one verse, he celebrates and cautions with the wisdom of the ages: ("Have you ever noticed/When you're feeling really good/There's always a pigeon/That'll come sh-t on your hood"). Yessiree I have!!!

All this and we're only five songs into the CD. Allison Krauss duets on the bittersweet My Darlin' Hometown. Mindy Smith joins the meditative Talking A Walk. On anyone else's work, Blaze Foley's exquisite Clay Pigeons might stand as the capper, but here, surrounded by the music Prine generously reveals, it falls beautifully into place. Two bonus tracks, a live, previously unreleased Other Side of Town and the straight forward folk of Safety Joe only add shine to a most welcome luminosity. Simply the best disc of 2005 so far.

Track List

  • Glory Of True Love
  • Crazy As A Loon
  • Long Monday
  • Taking A Walk
  • Some Humans Ain't Human
  • My Darlin' Hometown
  • Morning Train
  • The Moon Is Down
  • Clay Pigeons
  • She Is My Everything
  • I Hate It When That Happens To Me
  • Bear Creek Blues
  • Bonus Tracks
    • Other Side of Town
    • Safety Joe
    Produced by: John Prine & Gary Pacsoza

    Edited by: David N. Pyles

    Copyright 2005, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
    This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

    Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews
    Return to FAME Home Page

    Return to Home Page

    Page design by David N. Pyles