peace (1K)
eastmountainsouth - eastmountainsouth



Dreamworks Records

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Michael Jurkovic

The genealogy of this review goes like this: I heard the tail-end of this eerie, droning version of Stephen Foster's elegiac Hard Times on a membership supported station (where else?) and thought "That's interesting." A few days later I heard another track (the celebratory You Dance) and thought "That's interesting." Further on up the road I heard the spectral drum loops and banjo of the riveting Ballad Of Young Alban and Amandy and all of a sudden it seems like I'm always listening to ems or I have always been listening to ems or have always heard them in my head.

Signed by Robbie Robertson, major label debuts like this don't engage us often as the haunted duo of Kat Maslich and Peter Adams jumble mod and trad into an impressionistic crossbreed of ghosts and the hearts they haunt.

Reverbed guitars, treated pianos, and a born-to-be harmonic blend of voices places songs like Rain Come Down; the wedding-song demo So Are You To Me; and On Your Way into your consciousness till they are more like memories than songs. There is no way anyone who recalls what music could be, should be, was, or wants to rediscover same can not appreciate this disc.

Track List:

  • Hard Times
  • Winter
  • Ghost
  • Interlude
  • You Dance
  • So Are You To Me
  • Show Me The River
  • Rain Come Down
  • Still Running
  • All The Stars
  • Father
  • Too Soon
  • The Ballad Of Young Alban and Amandy
  • Mark's Song
  • On Your Way
Produced by Mitchell Froom and Peter Adams

Edited by: David N. Pyles

Copyright 2004, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles