peace (1K)
Chris Jones - A Few Words: The Best of the Originals

A Few Words:
The Best of the Originals

Chris Jones


Rebel Records
PO Box 7405
Charlottesville, VA 22906

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Allen Price

From his early days with Special Consensus to his current work with the Night Drivers, Chris Jones has gained acclaim and respect as both a singer and a well-respected flatpicking guitarist. His guitar work is respected enough that he is a regular columnist in Flatpicking magazine, and has produced an instructional video set on bluegrass guitar.

But Chris Jones is also a skillful songwriter who writes literate tales and touching ballads that are devoid of the easy cliché. He gives a tune just enough of a twist in the chord pattern to produce a unique song. A Few Words is a collection of both previously recorded tunes and new releases written or co-written by Jones. Guest artists on the album include Ron Block, Dan Tyminski, Ron Stewart, Luke Bulla, Rob Ickes, Adam Steffey and a whole bunch more.

While Jones retains the traditional bluegrass sound, his writing is contemporary in subject matter and phrasing. He writes songs that produce vivid imagery (Dark Wind of Missouri) and sly wit (Model Prisoner). His writing compels one to listen to the tale within each song. While most of his tunes are bluegrass, a real standout is the honky-tonk/swing influenced Heartaches to Forget. The swing fiddle work of Luke Bulla is the perfect backdrop to Jones' story of a regular visitor to the local bar room.

Chris Jones already has a legion of loyal fans who will love this great collection of his original tunes. That legion will grow as others discover this album. Chris Jones is what baseball scouts would call a triple threat: singer, songwriter and picker.

Track List:

  • Dark Wind of Missouri (Chris Jones/Kevin O'Morrison)
  • Bridge to Portsmouth
  • A Few Words
  • Uphill Climb
  • Stream of Love
  • Nelson of the Mountains (Chris Jones/Dixie & Tom T. Hall)
  • Heartaches to Forget (Chris Jones/John Pennell)
  • Alone With You (Chris Jones/Paul Kramer)
  • Just A Town (Chris Jones/Sally Jones)
  • Wits' End
  • Model Prisoner (Chris Jones/John Pennell)
  • Too Far Down The Road
  • Blinded By The Rose
  • Fork In The Road (Chris Jones/John Pennell)
  • No One But You
  • Witness (Chris Jones/Sally Jones)
(All songs written by Chris Jones unless otherwise noted)

Edited by David N. Pyles

Copyright 2003, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Fame LogoReturn to FAME Reviews

Return to Home Page

Page design by David N. Pyles