Eddie From Ohio - Quick


Eddie From Ohio

Virginia Soul Records (VSR 007)

Eddie From Ohio
P.O. Box 7431
McLean, VA 22106

Order CDs through bulletproofstore.com
or by phone 413-527-9393
or by fax 413-527-9691

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
By David Schultz

Quick is Eddie From Ohio's seventh album on their own label, Virginia Soul Records. Produced by EFO veteran Billy Wolf, Quick is their finest studio album to date. The band consists of Julie Murphy Wells(vocals), Michael Clem (bass and vocals), Eddie Hartness (drums, percussion, and vocals), and Robbie Shaefer (guitar and vocals). As their press material says, EFO is "too energetic to be labeled just 'folk', and not angry enough to be pegged 'alternative.'" Cleveland's Plain Dealer called EFO "psycho folk", but Quick is more apt to showcase the band's slower material, which is stronger than in the past.

Why EFO aren't a bigger staple in AAA radio is a big mystery. Their pleasant-sounding, and sometimes quirky, tunes have widespread appeal. The music of this acoustically instrumented band is so radio friendly that it should be ubiquitous. Unfortunately, it is not. Quick, however, will go a long way toward gaining more airplay and expanding EFO's fan base.

The highlight of the album, the ska-flavored Let's Get Mesolithic, should start a new dance craze. It would be a shame if this didn't produce a breakout radio hit for the group. In the interplay between Wells and Schaefer, we hear:

Let's get Mesolithic, you can pull me by my hair.
Call this girl old-fashioned, but I say a cave is where,
you'll find a loving cro-mag, who will hunt and gather fare.
Let's get Mesolithic tonight.

I've dated New-Age women--they don't impress me much
There's only one advantage--they insist on going dutch
The independent, self-reliant gals you see these days,
don't understand my manly scent and knuckle-dragging ways."

Clearly, one aspect about EFO that hasn't changed is their penchant for silliness, even in the most serious songs. For example, The Best of Me, a sad song in the same vein as Happy Loving Couples by Joe Jackson, describes the things that loving couples do. The narrator, not currently attached, sings about how she wishes to be part of such a couple, yet at the same time deriding them. In the middle of the song, a whole chorus is devoted to listing names that couples call each other: "Widgie, Boopsie, & Sausage Toes. Big Banana, Tuna Pants. Miss DeMeanie, Doctor Romance. Nude Crusader and Greg Lemond."

Another two of the album's outstanding songs are the acapella songs, written by Julie Murphy Wells. Hey Little Man is a wonderful lullaby to her newborn son. The album closer Great Day is a rousing gospel song, recorded live. EFO showcases their vocal harmonizing with all four members participating. In addition, the band has an instrumental, Cantering on Fool, a poppy number. The stream-of-consciousness lyrics in Monotony and the Tommy the Canexican is reminiscent of Barenaked Ladies and Moxy Fruvous. Tom Burleigh's Dead sounds like Great Big Sea.

Quick showcases the entire band and is a stronger, more compelling album than EFO have previously released. New fans of EFO will find this a nice collection of songs to start their collection with. Old fans of EFO will find this a must-have for their EFO album collection.

Track List:

  • Quick
  • Let's Get Mesolithic
  • The Best of Me
  • Hey Little Man
  • Number Six Driver
  • One Thousand Sarahs
  • Monotony
  • Candido & America
  • Abraham
  • Cantering on Fool
  • Tommy the Canexican
  • Tom Burleigh's Dead
  • Great Day

Edited by David N. Pyles

Copyright 2001, Peterborough Folk Music Society and David Schultz.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles, acousticmusic.com
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to:
Email: DNPyles@acousticmusic.com