Rhonda Vincent - The Storm Still Rages

The Storm Still Rages

Rhonda Vincent

Rounder Records #11611-0474-2

Rounder Records
One Camp Street
Cambridge, MA 02140

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Allen Price

Who says lightning can't strike twice? Back Home Again was Rhonda Vincent's triumphant return to bluegrass, and what a barnburner it was! It would not be reasonable to think that her next album would be anything close to the gem that one was. Right?

Wrong! The Storm Still Rages is more of the same, with the same energy and hard-driving bluegrass sound of its predecessor. Banjo picker extraordinaire Tom Adams (Johnson Mountain Boys, Lynn Morris Band, Blue Highway) kicks it off with the opening tune, Cry of the Whippoorwill, and never lets go until the closing tune, The Martha White Theme. Lester Flatt must be smiling up there, to hear his old theme song still being sung.

Of particular note is a tune written for Bill Monroe, Is The Grass Any Bluer. Both a tribute to Monroe and to the music he created, this is a song destined to be heard at many a bluegrass jam. Vincent also gets some country flavor on the album with a great version of Carl Jackson's and Melba Montgomery's I'm Not Over You," also the source for the title of the album. Sonya and Ben Isaacs give this tune the chilling harmonies it needs, backed by the haunting fiddle of the great Aubrey Haynie. And for pure swing, there's On Solid Ground." Darrin Vincent slaps the bass through the chorus with the best of them, along with Rob Ickes on resophonic guitar and Stuart Duncan on fiddle. You'll be jitterbugging in the kitchen on this one.

Rhonda Vincent has done it again with The Storm Still Rages.


  • Rhonda Vincent, vocals, mandolin
  • Tom Adams, banjo
  • Bryan Sutton, guitar, mandolin
  • Darrin Vincent, bass, harmony vocals
  • Stuart Duncan, fiddle
  • Mike Cleveland, fiddle
  • Rob Ickes, resophonic guitar
  • Aubrey Haynie, mandolin, fiddle
  • Sonya Isaacs, harmony vocal
  • Ben Isaacs, harmony vocal
  • Audie Blaylock, rhythm guitar, harmony vocals
  • Brian Vincent, harmony vocal
  • Johnny Vincent, harmony vocal
  • Ronnie Stewart, banjo, fiddle
  • Randy Barnes, harmony vocal
  • Jim Mills, guitar
  • Ray Deaton, bass vocal
  • Alison Krauss, harmony vocal

Edited by Roberta B. Schwartz

Copyright 2001, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles, acousticmusic.com
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to:
Email: DNPyles@acousticmusic.com