Various Artists - The Warner Collection, Vol. II: Nothing Seems Better To Me: The Music of Frank Proffitt and North Carolina

The Warner Collection,
Vol. II:
Nothing Seems Better To Me:
The Music of Frank Proffitt
and North Carolina

Various Artists

(APR CD 1035)

Appleseed Recordings
P.O. Box 2593
West Chester, PA 19380

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

A wealth of field recordings have recently been released, or re-released. Rounder continues to issue the Alan Lomax, Deep River of Song series, and Appleseed has released two volumes of The Warner Collection. While less known than the Lomaxs, Frank and Anne Warner made a number of recordings over a forty-year period of time and donated them to the Library of Congress in 1972. Now, thanks to Appleseed, these recordings have been made easily available for scholars, lovers of old-time music, and the curious. The Warner Collection, Vol. II concentrates on the music of singer, guitarist, and banjo player Frank Proffitt. His recordings represent almost half of the selections here. Proffitt had a deep love for music and played hundreds of songs for the Warners, with whom he developed a close friendship (they would save 250 of Proffitt's letters). Unfortunately, the Depression continued to have an impact on the Appalachians, even as late as 1951, forcing him to sell his guitar and give up music for a number of years. Today, Proffitt's name is primarily associated with the famous murder ballad, Tom Dooley.

There are two versions of Tom Dooley" on The Warner Collection, Vol. II. The first is from 1940 and lasts only 44 seconds. "My earlyest (sic) memory was of waking up on a wintry morning," Frank Proffitt wrote, "and hearing my father picking the Tom Dooly (sic) song in a slow mournful way." Proffitt would teach the song to Alan Lomax who published it in Folk Song U.S.A. In 1959, the Kingston Trio recorded the song and it became an international hit. Their version, however, only partially resembled the original. "I got a television set for the kids," Proffitt wrote. "One night I was a-setting looking at some foolishness when three fellers stepped out with guitar and banjer (sic) and went to singing Tom Dooly (sic) and they clowned and hipswinged (sic). I began to feel sorty sick, like I'd lost a love one." Proffitt recorded the second longer version of Tom Dooley in 1959, fully capturing the pathos of the ballad.

There are at least 15 other recordings by Proffitt on The Warner Collection, Vol. II that one shouldn't miss. The plaintive Goin' 'Cross the Mountain is accompanied by spare banjo and a lonesome vocal, while Hangman," sung without accompaniment, is even more lonesome. While old-time singing sometimes strikes the uninitiated as too high and untrained, Proffitt's vocals are relaxed, full-bodied, and immediately accessible. There are also songs that represent social difficulties and domestic bliss. W P and A (Works Projects Administration) is a Depression-era song about the role of government programs in the Appalachian region, while Trifling Woman bemoans a woman that "won't bake my biscuits."

While Proffitt is the star here, he is joined by a number of talented singers including Lee Monroe Presnell, Linzy Hicks, Eleazar Tillett, Buna Vista Hicks, and Frank Proffitt, Jr. The quality of the recording, as with the previous volume, is excellent. Proffitt's music would eventually lead to opportunities that would improve his financial security (although it would take an extended legal battle to gain royalties from Tom Dooley). He recorded for Folkways and Folk-Legacy, played at Newport, and even received a cover article in Sing Out! The Warner Collection, Vol. II is a perfect way to introduce the wonderful music of Frank Proffitt and North Carolina to a new generation.


  • Mule Skinner Blues-Frank Proffitt
  • Going 'Cross the Mountain-Frank Proffitt
  • Tom Dooley-Frank Proffitt
  • Conversation with Frank Proffitt
  • Tom Dooley-Frank Proffitt
  • Conversation with Buna Vista Hicks
  • Sally Ann-Buna Vista Hicks
  • Drunkard's Doom-Buna Vista Hicks
  • Awake, Awake My Own True Loveyer-Lee Monroe Presnell
  • My Sweet Soldier Boy-Lee Monroe Presnell
  • Oh Bud-J.B. Sutton
  • When Sorrows Encompass Me Around-Linzy Hicks
  • George Collins-Nathan & Rena Hicks
  • Bolamkin-Frank Proffitt
  • Cripple Creek-Frank Proffitt
  • Hangman-Frank Proffitt
  • Poor Soldier-Frank Proffitt
  • Pretty Polly-Frank Proffitt
  • Paul Jones-Charles K. Tillett
  • The Southern Girl's Reply-Eleazar Tillett
  • Only a Friend-Curt Mann
  • Rocky By Baby-Rebecca King Jones
  • Captain, O Captain-Rebecca King Jones
  • Wake, O Wake, You Drowsy Sleeper-R. Jones
  • Sweet By and By-Frank Proffitt
  • Cindy-Frank Proffitt
  • Groundhog-Frank Proffitt, Jr.
  • Nothing Seems Better to Me-Joseph Henry Johnson
  • The Snow Is on the Ground-Eleazar Tillett
  • Conversation with Eleazar Tillett
  • Fisherman's Girl-Eleazar Tillett and Martha Etheridge
  • Beaver Dam Road-Frank Proffitt
  • Conversation with Frank Proffitt
  • W P and A-Frank Proffitt
  • (Going Where) My Troubles Will Be Over-Frank Proffitt
  • Kicking Up Dust-Frank Proffitt, Jr.
  • Johnny, O Johnny-Buna Hicks
  • The Two Sisters that Loved One Man-Lee Monroe Presnell
  • Old Virginny-Lee Monroe Presnell
  • Conversation with Lee Monroe Presnell
  • Johnny, You Are My Darling-Lee Monroe Presnell
  • Muskrat-Roby Monroe Hicks
  • Young Johnny-Roby Monroe Hicks
  • Sourwood Mountain-Frank Proffitt
  • Trifling Woman-Frank Proffitt
  • Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss-Frank Proffitt
  • Wild Stormy Deep-Homer Cornett

Edited by: David Schultz

Copyright 2001, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles,
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to: