Buckethead - Giant Robot

Giant Robot


COCD 48996

Cyber Octave Music
23852 Pacific Coast Highway
Malibu, CA 90265

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Joanne Kelly

Robots, Music and Chickens, OH MY!

IRONMAN (Ozzy Osborne), GODZILLA (Blue Oyster Cult), EDDIE (Iron Maiden).....BUCKETHEAD - Man raised in a chicken coop, by chickens. His world is just as cartoonish as his character, where he lives through his music in an imaginary land of amusement.

Giant Robot is the third solo album by Buckethead, a real man, not an actual robot, who is known to stay in character much the same way KISS stayed in make-up. Currently he is the new lead guitarist for Guns-n-Roses and well recognized amongst "metalheads." Even though most of his musical projects are in the metal rock genre, because of his fierce guitar playing and his ear for experimentation, he has many credits outside of this genre as well. He has worked with artists Will Ackerman, John Zorn and Bernie Worrell and with other bands including Primus, Praxis, Sacrifist and Day of the Robot. He has been featured on movie soundtracks (Last Action Hero and Mortal Kombat).

The album is an incredible combination of funk, drum and bass, industrial rock a la 80's style guitar leads, and all due to the incredible musicians who went on this musical journey with Buckethead. Bill Laswell is the producer, and the cast of characters includes: Bootsy Collins and Jerome "Bigfoot" Brailey from Parliament, Sly Dunbar of Peter Tosh, Black Uhuru and Sly and Robbie fame, Thomas Dolby, Iggy Pop and Bill Mosley, the voice from Texas Chain Saw Massacre.

How often do you hear a remake of Pure Imagination, a song written by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley, and the song Gene Wilder sang as "Willy Wonka" in the movie version of the classic children's story written by Roald Dahl? I Come In Peace is a spoof on Japanese Godzilla movies, and Doomride is a musical rollercoaster that will make you leave your seat from the G-forces created. You can see the humor intended on this album by referring to the song list below. The music is pulsating, fun and definitely a party piece! With this cast of characters, how can you go wrong?

Song List:

  • Doomride
  • Welcome to Bucketheadland
  • I Come In Peace
  • Buckethead's Toy Store
  • Want Some Slaw?
  • Warweb
  • Rourbot
  • Binge and Grab
  • Pure Imagination
  • Buckethead's Chamber of Horrors
  • Onions Unleashed
  • Chicken
  • I Love My Parents
  • Buckethead's TV Show
  • Robot Transmission
  • Pirate's Life For Me
  • Post Office Buddy
  • Star Wars
  • Last Train To Bucketheadland

Edited by Roberta B. Schwartz

Copyright 2001, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles, acousticmusic.com
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to:
Email: DNPyles@acousticmusic.com