Various Artists - String Alchemy: From Eclectic to Electric - Vanguard

String Alchemy:
From Eclectic to Electric

Various Artists


Vanguard Records
2700 Pennsylvania Avenue
Santa Monica, CA 90404

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Record labels that have a long history and a good roster of artists enjoy putting compilations together from time to time to show off their talent. It's fun for the listener too, because it allows her or him to hear a variety of artists in fresh settings. String Alchemy: From Eclectic to Electric brings together eight guitarists who have recorded for Vanguard, most of them from the early 60s to the mid-70s. This is a diverse album, with styles ranging from the jazz of Larry Coryell to the folk of Mimi & Richard Fariña, to the new age of John Fahey.

Larry Coryell opens this album, appearing in several different settings. You Don't Know What Love Is is a lovely instrumental, with Coryell playing lead electric over an acoustic guitar. Rene's Theme teams him with John McLaughlin, where both guitarists seem to be in a contest over who can execute the quickest runs. There's also a previously unreleased version of, Ann Arbor, with Ralph Towner, on twelve-string guitar and Colin Walcott playing sitar. This all-acoustic setting creates a complex and dynamic instrumental. The five instrumentals by Coryell and exquisite contribution by the group Oregon comprise the jazz of this collection, and are a highlight of the disc.

John McEuen from Nitty Gritty Dirt Band fame offers three tracks, including the charming Keep Walking, and the South American tinged, Moonlight Dancing. Both display fuller arrangements than other contributions on String Alchemy, and offer a good contrast to the quieter and more Eastern influenced music of Sandy Bull and Peter Walker. Also fascinating is McEuen's Andante, a Bach duet that is performed on guitar and banjo. Mimi & Richard Fariña offer three contributions that showcase their instrumental talent instead of their singing.

While this collection is stylistically "eclectic," there are also many common threads holding it together. All tracks, except for the first track by Coryell, are acoustic; and with the exception of one or two of the Coryell pieces, there is a great deal of Eastern and Third Stream (jazz mixed with classical) influences evident on this recording. Much of this music could be loosely described as new age or world music, or as the forerunner of what today's listener would think of as new age and world music.

String Alchemy is a relaxed collection that provides a sampling of known and lesser-known guitarists in the jazz and folk genres. The diverse assortment of artists and arrangements keep this collection intriguing, and the quality of all the material is high. Fans of individual artists on this compilation will also enjoy the previously unreleased tracks. This rewarding trip into Vanguard's vaults has produced an enjoyable anthology for those who love acoustic music.

Track List:

  • You Don't Know What Love Is/Larry Coryell
  • The Restful Mind/Larry Coryell with Ralph Towner, Collin Walcott & Glen Moore
  • Rene's Theme/Larry Coryell & John McLaughlin
  • Improvisation On Villa-Lobos (Prelude No. 4 in E minor)/Larry Coryell & The Eleventh House
  • Ann Arbor/Larry Coryell with Ralph Towner, Collin Walcott & Glen Moore
  • Serenade/Oregon
  • Manha de Carnival/Sandy Bull
  • Non Nobis Domine/Sandy Bull
  • Norwegian Wood/Peter Walker
  • Bianca/Peter Walker
  • April In Cambridge/Peter Walker
  • Miles/Mimi & Richard Fariña
  • Tommy Makem Fantasy/Mimi & Richard Fariña
  • Dopico/Mimi & Richard Fariña
  • Andante-"The Bach Duet" for guitar and banjo/John McEuen
  • Keep Walking/John McEuen
  • Moonlight Dancing/John McEuen
  • Dance Of The Inhabitants Of The Invisible City Of Bladensburg/John Fahey

Edited by: David Schultz

Copyright 2000, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles,
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to: