Aubrey Haynie - A Man Must Carry On

A Man Must Carry On

Aubrey Haynie


Sugar Hill Records, Inc.
PO Box 55300
Durham, NC 27717-5300

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange by
Allen Price

Guys like Aubrey Haynie just don't fall out of the trees every day. At the tender age of 26, he is a longtime veteran of national tours with country singers Aaron Tippin and Clint Black, an accomplished and highly-sought studio musician in Nashville, and, with A Man Must Carry On, a man with two first rate solo albums.

Haynie's work on fiddle and mandolin is both technically clean and full of feeling. He is equally adept on both instruments, playing acoustic country and swing with the best in the business. And then, there is his bluegrass work. On A Man Must Carry On, he is joined by members of some of the elite bands in contemporary bluegrass music. Folks like Rob Ickes (Blue Highway), Bryan Sutton (Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder), Ronnie Bowman (Lonesome River Band), and Dan Tyminski (Alison Krauss & Union Station) are just a few of the players who step up to the mike on this album.

There truly isn't a weak track on this album. With Carl Jackson singing lead, Haynie and company flat tear up on Hank Williams' Homesick And Lonesome. Haynie has many original instrumental pieces; my favorite is Happy Go Lucky, a bouncy tune in which Haynie plays both fiddle andmandolin and Jerry Douglas plays the Dobro like only he can. It swings.

Despite the many fine accomplishments of Aubrey Haynie, one knows this must be only the beginning. Big things are on the horizon. Here s a chance to hear a musician a step away from becoming a legend.


  • Creek's A Risin' (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Sam's Creek Blues (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Homesick & Lonesome (Hank Williams & Hank Williams Jr.)
  • Tennessee Hardwood (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Thonotosassa (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Can I Get An Amen (Tim Mensy & Allen Shamblin)
  • Buffalo Gals (Public Domain)
  • Song For Stacy (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Lakeland (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Happy Go Lucky (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Butcher Boy (Traditional, arranged by Aubrey Haynie)
  • Yeehaw Junction (Aubrey Haynie)
  • Eternal Blues (Aubrey Haynie)
  • A Man Must Carry On (Aubrey Haynie & Bobby Clark)
  • Gone To Ferrum (Aubrey Haynie & Rob Ickes)
  • Maggie (Public Domain)

Edited by David Schultz

Copyright 2000, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles,
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to: