Dave Lippman - I Hate Walmart

I Hate Walmart

Dave Lippman

Urgent Records
P.O.Box 781
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Guntram Gudowius

The title is the theme that runs through most of the lyrics of the eighteen originals and one cover song: biting social commentary and satirical twists on consumerism and other aspects of modern-day life. A few love songs, however, are thrown in for diversity. This is no album to just play in the background---the words demand attention. I would think of it as a musical book with different chapters about race relations, sexual orientation, politics, environmental issues and human hardships. The lyrics are included in the CD booklet, which helps to follow the mostly fast and upbeat songs. If you´re not quite as politically active or sympathetic to the issues raised it may be difficult to listen to the whole album without space for mental recovery. But, if you need a topical song for a program or broadcast, the chances are good you find it here. A few surprises are also included!

The musical production is varied and underscores the issue, from solo banjo or guitar accompaniment to a full band backup. The accompanying musicians are all very capable, switching between folky, country, talking-blues, and rock arrangements.

This CD is not an instant hit in my department, but it wins after several listenings and certainly deserves a space in the musical library of the politically interested. (As you might have guessed already, there is no G.O.P. song material!)

Track List:

  • I Hate Walmart
  • Roy Jordan And Ed Morgan
  • Hamburger Hill
  • Teenage Immigrant Welfare Mothers On Drugs (Lee Goland)
  • News Intro
  • If You Can See Me
  • Bohemian Grove
  • I Think There´s More
  • Free At Last
  • In My Younger Days
  • Guess Who´s Coming After Dinner
  • Indoors
  • Thank You
  • All My Friends Are Semi-Famous
  • My Favorite Songs
  • She´s My Darlin´
  • Working Hard
  • The Trouble With Political Jokes
  • Straight White Middle Class Male

The Musicians:

  • Dave Lippman - acoustic guitar and vocals
  • Joe Lev - bass, backup vocal
  • Chet Gardiner - bass on Teenage Immigrant Welfare Mothers On Drugs
  • Sister Swing (Valerie Marston, Leigh Hannah, Paula Chafey) - backup vocals
  • Bob Pearce - mandolin, slide guitar, pedal steel, guitar, banjo
  • Pat Balcom - drums
  • Bill Fairfield - accordion
  • John Agey - drums
  • Tony Dey - percussion, vibraslap
  • Hali Hammer - backup vocal
  • Tina Marzigliano - backup vocal
  • Ane Watts - backup vocal
  • Jimmy Malone - keyboards, piano, Hammond B-3 organ
  • Bruce Bolin - guitar, vocals
  • Leigh Lunetta - drums
  • Ken Knolls - vocals
  • Kathy Barwick - dobro
  • Donnie Snyder - congas & bongoes
  • Keeno Burns - drums
  • Ingrid Noyes - banjo
  • Tim Kile - Hammond B-3 organ
  • Yasutaka Nakajima - guitar

Edited by David Schultz

Copyright 2000, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to acousticmusic.com Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles, acousticmusic.com
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to:
Email: DNPyles@acousticmusic.com