Perilous Pursuit

Andrew Roblin & The Pocono Mountain Men

Upstart CD 1003

A review written for the Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
by Jim Zimmerschied

Perilous Pursuit is a rich, long-playing, eclectic album. The seventeen cuts consist primarily of bluegrass singing, fiddle tune instrumentals, with a few folk vocals thrown in. All of the band members are good instrumentalists, and the fiddle tune instrumentals are particularly outstanding, with Roblin leading on the hammer dulcimer.

Andrew Roblin is Canadian, and many of the tunes have a Canadian influence, if not origin. My favorites are "Plum Coulee" and "Ti-Jean Bouribale."

The bluegrass numbers include traditional songs such as "Walls of Time," "Don't Let Your Deal Go Down," and "Freight Train Boogie." All well sung and played by the group.

Besides the group vocals, there are also some solos by Roblin scattered about, such as "Manitoba," "Temperance Bear," and " Broncho Buster." Roblin's solo singing is pleasant if not outstanding.

Overall this is a good album with a lot of diversity.

Edited by Jim Dubinsky

Copyright 1997, Peterborough Folk Music Society.
This review may be reprinted with prior permission and attribution.

Return to FAME Reviews
Fame Logo Return to FAME Home Page

Return to Home Page

This Page was designed by David N. Pyles,
Please send comments, suggestions and inquiries to: